«August 2015»
Five Saints in unchanged England squad

The Saints quintet are all reatained © Getty Images

Rugby News Five Saints in unchanged England squad

The England 23 to take on Scotland on Saturday evening is unchanged from the one edged out by France, meaning starts for four Saints and a joint high five in total for the Calcutta Cup clash at Murrayfield.

Late heartbreak denied the side in Paris, but having rallied so well to come back from 3-16 down to lead in the second half, head coach Stuart Lancaster has given the selection another chance. That means further starts for try scoring debutant Luther Burrell as well as fellow Saints Dylan Hartley, Courtney Lawes and Tom Wood.

Scrum-half Lee Dickson is again among the replacements in Edinburgh.

“It’s good to be able to select the same players and they are all determined to put last week’s result behind us and build on the performance,” head coach Lancaster commented. “Scotland will be hugely motivated by their defeat in Dublin and, as we found two years ago, Murrayfield is a tough place to play.” 

2014 Six Nations
Saturday, February 8th, 2014
Kick off 5pm
Live on BBC One HD

15 Mike Brown (Harlequins)
14 Jack Nowell  (Exeter Chiefs)
13 Luther Burrell (Northampton Saints)
12 Billy Twelvetrees (Gloucester Rugby)
11 Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby)
10 Owen Farrell (Saracens)
9 Danny Care (Harlequins)
1 Joe Marler (Harlequins)
2 Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints)
3 Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers)
4 Joe Launchbury (London Wasps)
5 Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints)
6 Tom Wood (Northampton Saints)
7 Chris Robshaw (Harlequins)(capt)
8 Billy Vunipola (Saracens)

16 Tom Youngs (Leicester Tigers)
17 Mako Vunipola (Saracens)
18 Henry Thomas (Sale Sharks)
19 Dave Attwood (Bath Rugby)
20 Ben Morgan (Gloucester Rugby)
21 Lee Dickson (Northampton Saints)
22 Brad Barritt (Saracens)
23 Alex Goode (Saracens)

Number of views (2125)/Comments ()