Hobbs-Awoyemi in, Packman resumes for England Under-20

Danny Hobbs-Awoyemi starts for England Under-20 in Newcastle © www.atsportphoto.com

Academy News Hobbs-Awoyemi in, Packman resumes for England Under-20

Ahead of England Under-20’s crucial Six Nations meeting with Wales, Danny Hobbs-Awoyemi has been recalled to the starting line-up, the prop one of three Saints set to feature at Kingston Park on Friday evening.

Hobbs-Awoyemi came off the bench to make a real impact in England’s last game – a 33-9 win over Ireland at Franklin’s Gardens. Clubmate Howard Packman keeps his place in the back three, albeit switching to full back and another Saint, Sam Olver, is again among the replacements.

The two sides are currently locked on four points and leading the chase for Grand Slam candidates France at the top of the table. Head coach Nick Walshe says the team are ready for another stern test against a side they defeated to claim both the Six Nations and Junior World Championship titles last year.

“We’ve made a good start to the Championship,” he commented. “It was disappointing to lose out in France but we bounced back with good wins against Scotland and Ireland. The positive thing is that we still feel there is more to come from the guys, and we’re hoping for a good performance against Wales.

 “There’s not a chance we’ll be taking Wales lightly, we obviously know them pretty well and they have strength all over the park, but equally, so do we. We’re really pleased to be up here in Newcastle and can’t wait to get out there in front of a good home crowd.”

You can see how the Saints trio fare with the game being shown live on Sky Sports.

U20 Six Nations
Kingston Park
Friday, March 7th, 2013
Kick off 7:45pm

15 Howard Packman (Northampton Saints)
14 Zach Kibirige (Newcastle Falcons)
13 Nick Tompkins (Saracens)
12 Harry Sloan (Harlequins)
11 Henry Purdy (Leicester Tigers)
10 Billy Burns (Gloucester Rugby)
9 Callum Braley (Bristol Rugby)(captain)
1 Danny Hobbs-Awoyemi (Northampton Saints)
2 Harry Thacker (Leicester Tigers)
3 Scott Wilson (Newcastle Falcons)
4 Maro Itoje (Saracens)
5 Tom Ellis (Bath Rugby)
6 Ross Moriarty (Gloucester Rugby)
7 Gus Jones (London Wasps)
8 Joel Conlon (Exeter Chiefs)

16 Tom Woolstencroft (Bath Rugby)
17 Alex Lundberg (London Wasps)
18 Paul Hill (Leeds Carnegie)
19 Jonny Hill (Gloucester Rugby)
20 Hayden Stringer (Saracens)
21 Henry Taylor (Loughborough University)
22 Sam Olver (Northampton Saints)
23 Aaron Morris (Bedford Blues)

Number of views (2467)/Comments ()