«August 2015»
Mallinder skippers England-18 for Euro opener

Along with clubmate James Fish, Rotimi Segun and Harry Mallidner will be back in England Under-18 colours © www.adedaposegun.co.uk

Academy News Mallinder skippers England-18 for Euro opener

Harry Mallinder will lead England Under-18 out for their FIRA/AER European Championship opener against Portugal, the centre joined in the starting line-up by Saints teammates Rotimi Segun and James Fish in Poland this Friday.

The trio were all Academies League winners in February - centre Mallinder also captaining the Saints Under-18s during that run - and make Saints the best represented side in the starting XV as England’s title defence begins in Poznan.

The holders will be hoping for a good start, especially having the defeated the Portuguese 82-8 at the start of last year’s campaign. But coach John Fletcher insists they will have to play well.

“We’re looking forward to another FIRA Tournament – it’s good for the players to experience the hotel, the food and the culture of another country, because that’s part and parcel of modern rugby,” Fletcher commented.

“We played Portugal last season and we know that they won’t hold back, but we have confidence in ourselves and we’ll be looking for the guys to perform as well as they can.

“Harry will lead the side out for this game, although Sam Underhill is our tour captain, and it’s a great opportunity for both of those players.”

Score updates for the game will be available at www.twitter.com/EnglandRugby from 11am, while www.rfu.com will have highlights following the match.

FIRA/AER European Championship
Poznan, Poland
Friday, April 11th, 2014
Kick off 11am BST

15 Cameron COWELL (St Pauls Catholic College, London Irish)
14 Kai LITTLE (Hartpury College, Exeter Chiefs)
13 Joe MARCHANT (Peter Symonds, Harlequins)
12 Harry MALLINDER (Rugby School, Northampton Saints) (capt)
11 Rotimi SEGUN (Stowe School, Northampton Saints)
10 Theo BROPHY-CLEWS (Abingdon School, London Irish)
9 Alex MITCHELL (Lymm High School, Sale Sharks)
1 Owen HILLS (Queen Elizabeth Wyggeston College, Leicester Tigers)
2 James FISH (Trent College, Northampton Saints)
3 Josh IBUANOKPE (Dulwich College, Harlequins)
4 Huw TAYLOR (Old Swinford Hospital, Worcester Warriors)
5 Stanley SOUTH (Whitgift School, Harlequins)
6 Joe BATLEY (Hartpury College, Gloucester Rugby)
7 Josh BAINBRIDGE (Prince Henry’s Grammar, Leeds Carnegie)
8 Callum CHICK (Gosforth Academy, Newcastle Falcons)

16 Ollie ADAMS (St Pauls Catholic College, London Irish)
17 Lewis BOYCE (Prince Henry's Grammar, Leeds Carnegie)
18 Jack STANLEY (Truro College, Exeter Chiefs)
19 George NOTT (Kings School Chester, Sale Sharks)
20 Will SAFE (Hartpury College, Gloucester Rugby)
21 Sam UNDERHILL  (Sir Thomas Rich’s School, Gloucester Rugby)
22 Jack MAUNDER (Blundells School, Exeter Chiefs)
23 Charlie THACKER (Leicester Grammar, Leicester Tigers)
24 Lucas SLOWIK (Filton College, Bristol Rugby)
25 Taylor PRELL (Giggleswick School, Leeds Carnegie)

Number of views (2959)/Comments ()