Saints trio looking for more international involvement

James Fish is one of three Saints in England Under-18s' squad ©

Academy News Saints trio looking for more international involvement

Having impressed in in a Euro opener against Portugal, James Fish, Harry Mallinder and Rotimi Segun have been named in England Under-18s’ 26-man squad for a FIRA/AER semi-final against Wales on Tuesday afternoon.

All three are among the replacements having started Friday’s game against the Portuguese – a 62-5 win in which Segun (twice) and captain for the day Mallinder both scored tries.

Forwards coach Ian Peel is expecting a big challenge as England’s title defence resumes in Poznan.

“It’s always a big game against Wales and this will be no different,” he commented. “A few of these guys played them a couple of weeks ago at Neath RFC and put in a good performance, so we’ll be looking for similar.

“As a group we have trained well, the facilities in Poland have been excellent and we’ve enjoyed being here. The FIRA competition is always a good chance to play against the best players at this age group.”

The game kicks off at 1pm and will be streamed live on the Euro Rugby website HERE. If you are on the go, score updates will also be available via the @EnglandRugby Twitter feed.

FIRA/AER European Championship semi-final
Poznan, Poland
Tuesday, April 15th, 2014
Kick off 1pm

15 Taylor PRELL (Giggleswick School, Leeds Carnegie)
14 George PERKINS (Oaklands, Saracens)
13 Lucas SLOWIK  (Filton College, Bristol)
12 Charlie THACKER (Leicester Grammar, Leicester Tigers)
11 Kai LITTLE (Hartpury College, Exeter Chiefs)
10 Theo BROPHY-CLEWS (Abingdon School, London Irish)
9 Jack MAUNDER (Blundells School, Exeter Chiefs)
1 Lewis BOYCE (Prince Henry's Grammar, Leeds Carnegie)
2 Ollie ADAMS (St Pauls Catholic College, London Irish)
3 Jack STANLEY (Truro College, Exeter Chiefs)
4 Huw TAYLOR (Old Swinford Hospital, Worcester Warriors)
5 George NOTT (Kings School Chester, Sale Sharks)
6 Joe BATLEY (Hartpury College, Gloucester)
7 Sam UNDERHILL  (Sir Thomas Rich’s School, Gloucester)(capt)
8 Will SAFE (Hartpury College, Gloucester)

16 James FISH (Trent College, Northampton Saints)
17 Owen HILLS (Queen Elizabeth Wyggeston College, Leicester Tigers)
18 Josh IBUANOKPE (Dulwich College, Harlequins)
19 Stanley SOUTH (Whitgift School, Harlequins)
20 Callum CHICK (Gosforth Academy, Newcastle Falcons)
21 Josh BAINBRIDGE (Prince Henry’s Grammar, Leeds Carnegie)
22 Alex MITCHELL (Lymm High School, Sale Sharks)
23 Harry MALLINDER (Rugby School, Northampton Saints)
24 Joe MARCHANT (Peter Symonds, Harlequins)
25 Rotimi SEGUN (Stowe School, Northampton Saints)
26 Cameron COWELL (St Pauls Catholic College, London Irish)

Number of views (1821)/Comments ()