Three Saints in England Under-16 squad to play Scotland


Academy News Three Saints in England Under-16 squad to play Scotland

Three players from the Saints' Elite Player Development Groups have been named in a 23-man England squad that will play Scotland tomorrow.

George Cave (Bedford School), Ben Kelland (Royal Hospital School) and Suva Ma'asi (Wootton School) will see action in the final game of the Wellington International Festival in Somerset.

The trio have earned their places after standing out playing for their respective regions in the games played so far in this week's festival.

The talent identification process began back in March 2013 with each of the four divisions (London and the South East, Midlands, North and South West) naming a squad of twenty five in December.

The final selection process also divided the remaining players into three further squads (Saxons, Roses and Lions) each of which will compete at Wellington tomorrow.

James Grayson (Northampton School for Boys) is in the England Saxons squad that will play an Italy Academy Selection Under-17 side, with Jake Carter (Bedford School), Tosin Segun (Stowe School) and Charlton Kerr (Stowe School) all in the England Roses squad and Scott Griffin (RGS Colchester), David Hickey (Bedford School), Ehren Painter (Felsted School) and Matt Watson (RGS Colchester) in the England Lions squad.

ENGLAND U16 TEAM TO PLAY SCOTLAND (School, Club, Academy, County)
Reuben Bird-Tulloch (Eltham College, Blackheath RFC, Saracens, Kent)
George Cave (Bedford School, Bedford Blues RFC, Northampton Saints, East Midlands)
Alistair Crossdale (Altrincham GS, Bowdon RFC, Sale Sharks, Cheshire)
Thomas Curry (Bishop Heber HS, Crewe & Nantwich RFC, Sale Sharks, Cheshire)
Ben Earl (Tonbridge School, Sevenoaks RFC, Saracens, Kent)
Charlie Gowling (Sedbergh School, Newcastle Falcons, CND)
Oliver Graham (Castle School Taunton, Taunton RFC, Bath Rugby, Somerset)
Kalius Hutchinson (Coundon Court, Old Coventrians, Worcester Warriors, Warwickshire)
Gabriel Ibitoye (Trinity School, Harlequins, Surrey)
Nick Isiekwe (Nicholas Breakspear School, Old Albanians RFC, Saracens, Hertfordshire)
Ben Kelland (Royal Hospital School, Colchester RFC, Northampton Saints, Eastern Counties)
Matt Kouris (Wavell School Farnborough, Basingstoke RFC, London Irish, Hampshire)
Suva Ma'asi (Wootton School, Ampthill RFC, Northampton Saints, East Midlands)
Joseph Morris (King Edward VI Aston School, Sutton Coldfield RFC, Worcester Warriors, North Midlands)
Jack Nay (The Hayesbrook School, Saracens, Kent)
Joshua Nott (RGS Worcester, Worcester RFC, Worcester Warriors, North Midlands)
Matt Riddington (Oakham School, Leicester Tigers, Leicestershire)
Callum Sirker (Harrow School, Richmond RFC, Wasps, Middlesex)
Marcus Street (Queen Elizabeth's CC, Cullumpton RFC, Exeter Chiefs, Devon)
Will Vaughan (Heathfield Comm. School, Taunton RFC, Bath Rugby, Somerset)
Henry Walker (Bromsgrove School, Spartans RFC, Gloucester, North Midlands)
Matt Williams (Wellington College, London Irish, Berkshire)
Zac Xiourouppa (Ellesmere College, Shrewsbury RFC, Worcester Warriors, North Midlands)

Number of views (3471)/Comments ()