Four Junior Saints in FIRA action this weekend

(L to R) James Fish, Harry Malinder and Rotimi Segun are in the England U18 squad ©

Academy News Four Junior Saints in FIRA action this weekend

Four players from the Junior Saints Academy will be representing two countries in the FIRA/AER European Championship this weekend.

England play Ireland in Wronki, Poland, on Saturday afternoon and Harry Mallinder, whose late penalty put England Under-18 into their fourth successive FIRA/AER final, is one of three changes made by the national coaches to the starting line-up from that which began the semi-final against Wales.

Mallinder wears the number 10 shirt, with hooker James Fish and wing Rotimi Segun both named on the replacements' bench.

“It’s going to be a tough challenge against a physical Ireland side," said forwards coach Peter Walton, "but we’ve trained well since the Wales game, and the lads are in a good place.

“We know that we’re going to have to front up, but that’s something we’re ready for. This game is about the future – we’ve mentioned that we’ve done well in the past, but it’s about developing these guys.”

Saturday's game kicks off at 3:30pm UK time, with live streaming available VIA THIS LINK.

Another Junior Saint, Rory Hutchinson, will be in action on Saturday morning as part of the Scotland team that will play Italy in the play-off to decide fifth and sixth place in the tournament. Hutchinson will start at fly half.


FIRA/AER European Championship Final
Wronki, Poland
Saturday, April 19th, 2014
Kick off 3:30pm UK time
15 Taylor Prell (Giggleswick School, Leeds Carnegie)
14 George Perkins (Oaklands, Saracens)
13 Lucas Slowik (Filton College, Bristol)
12 Charlie Thacker (Leicester Grammar, Leicester Tigers)
11 Kai Little (Hartpury College, Exeter Chiefs)
10 Harry Mallinder (Rugby School, Northampton Saints)
9 Jack Maunder (Blundells School, Exeter Chiefs)
1 Lewis Boyce (Prince Henry's Grammar, Leeds Carnegie)
2 Ollie Adams (St Pauls Catholic College, London Irish)
3 Josh Ibuanokpe (Dulwich College, Harlequins)
4 Stanley South (Whitgift School, Harlequins)
5 George Nott (Kings School Chester, Sale Sharks)
6 Joe Batley (Hartpury College, Gloucester)
7 Sam Underhill (Sir Thomas Rich’s School, Gloucester)(capt)
8 Will Safe (Hartpury College, Gloucester)

16 James Fish (Trent College, Northampton Saints)
17 Owen Hills (Queen Elizabeth Wyggeston College, Leicester Tigers)
18 Jack Stanley (Truro College, Exeter Chiefs)
19 Callum Chick (Gosforth Academy, Newcastle Falcons)
20 Huw Taylor (Old Swinford Hospital, Worcester Warriors)
21 Josh Bainbridge (Prince Henry’s Grammar, Leeds Carnegie)
22 Alex Mitchell (Lymm High School, Sale Sharks)
23 Theo Brophy Clews (Abingdon School, London Irish)
24 Joe Marchant (Peter Symonds, Harlequins)
25 Rotimi Segun (Stowe School, Northampton Saints)
26 Cameron Cowell (St Pauls Catholic College, London Irish)

Number of views (3157)/Comments ()