Elliott claims Premiership Try of the Season, three Saints in Dream Team

Jamie Elliott races away to score at Kingsholm © www.redhatphoto.com

Rugby News Elliott claims Premiership Try of the Season, three Saints in Dream Team

Jamie Elliott’s scintillating score against Gloucester was last night named the ITV Sport Try of the Season at the Aviva Premiership Rugby Awards, while a trio from Franklin’s Gardens were also included in the BT Sport Dream Team.

The wing’s score – created brilliantly by George North’s break, some fine handling and Elliott’s own excellent running line – came in the Round 3 trip to Kingsholm.

The three Dream Team inclusions meanwhile are Luther Burrell at outside centre, Stephen Myler at fly half and Samu Manoa in the second row.

The team was selected by BT Sport’s BT Sport's on-air team of Martin Bayfield, Lawrence Dallaglio, Matt Dawson, Jill Douglas, Craig Doyle, Sarra Elgan, Alastair Eykyn, Austin Healey, Ben Kay, and Nick Mullins.

Burrell’s fine form for both club and country made him the outstanding candidate at 13, while Myler’s importance to the Saints’ success and supreme consistency earned him praise from the panel. The final inclusion, Manoa, has had another immense season and led the league’s second row forwards in terms of tries (six), clean breaks (seven) and offloads (18) in the 2013/14 regular season.

The American powerhouse was also among the nominations for Player of the Year and Forward of the Year, while Dylan Hartley and Dom Waldouck made the shortlist for Community Player of the Season. Elliott’s second nomination came in the Discovery of the Season category.

15 Mike Brown (Harlequins)
14 Semesa Rokoduguni (Bath)
13 Luther Burrell (Northampton Saints)
12 Kyle Eastmond (Bath Rugby)
11 Vereniki Goneva (Leicester Tigers)
10 Stephen Myler (Northampton Saints)
9 Danny Care (Harlequins)
1 Joe Marler (Harlequins)
2 Dave Ward (Harlequins)
3 Logovi'i Mulipola (Leicester Tigers)
4 Samu Manoa (Northampton Saints)
5 Michael Paterson (Sale Sharks)
6 Dan Braid (Sale Sharks)
7 Jacques Burger (Saracens)
8 Billy Vunipola (Saracens)

Winner: Jamie Elliott (Northampton Saints) v Gloucester Rugby
Shortlist: Christian Wade (London Wasps) v Gloucester Rugby, Nick Abendanon (Bath Rugby) v Exeter Chiefs, Kelly Brown (Saracens) v Northampton Saints, Logovi'i Mulipola (Leicester Tigers) v Exeter Chiefs and Dean Mumm (Exeter Chiefs) v Worcester Warriors

Number of views (4553)/Comments ()