Try scorers retain places for Junior World Championship final

Howard Packman has retained his place in the England U20 team © Getty Images

Academy News Try scorers retain places for Junior World Championship final

Danny Hobbs-Awoyemi and Howard Packman have both retained their places in the England Under-20 team for Friday's Junior World Championship final.

The pair both scored eye-catching tries in the semi-final win over Ireland, and with head coach Nick Walshe naming an unchanged 23-man match day squad they will both have their chance to help England secure back-to-back world titles.

Sam Olver has been included among the replacements for the game, which is being played at Auckland's Eden Pack on Friday.

It is Hobbs-Awoyemi's second Junior World Championship final and he, like the rest of the team, will be hoping to emulate last year's 23-15 final win over Wales.

“This is a great opportunity for our guys," said Walshe. "They have been excellent all trip and have fully deserved to get to where they are.

“South Africa will be a difficult challenge, but we’re focusing on ourselves – we’re putting a real emphasis on performing for the full 80 minutes, we feel that we have played well in patches throughout the tournament but we want to see a complete performance.”

Friday's game is being broadcast live on Sky Sports, with coverage starting at 8am.

Junior World Championships Final
Eden Park, Auckland
Friday, June 20th, 2014
Kick off 8:35am UK time
15 Aaron Morris (Bedford Blues)
14 Howard Packman (Northampton Saints)
13 Nick Tompkins (Saracens)
12 Harry Sloan (Harlequins)
11 Nathan Earle (Saracens)
10 Billy Burns (Gloucester)
9 Henry Taylor (Loughborough University)
1 Danny Hobbs-Awoyemi (Northampton Saints)
2 Tom Woolstencroft (Bath)
3 Paul Hill (Leeds Carnegie)
4 Maro Itoje (Saracens)(capt)
5 Charlie Ewels (Bath)
6 Ross Moriarty (Gloucester)
7 Gus Jones (London Wasps)
8 James Chisholm (Harlequins)

16 Jack Walker (Leeds Carnegie)
17 Alex Lundberg (London Wasps)
18 Biyi Alo (Saracens)
19 Hayden Thompson-Stringer (Saracens)
20 Joel Conlon (Exeter Chiefs)
21 Callum Braley (Bristol)
22 Sam Olver (Northampton Saints)
23 Henry Purdy (Leicester)

Number of views (2257)/Comments ()