Nine Saints in England training squad

© Getty Images

Rugby News Nine Saints in England training squad

With the England squad assembling at Loughborough University this week, the Saints are the best represented Premiership club, providing nine of the 55 players in the training party.

The quintet of Alex Corbisiero, Dylan Hartley, Courtney Lawes, Calum Clark and Tom Wood are among the forwards while Lee Dickson, Stephen Myler, Luther Burrell and Ben Foden complete the Gardens representation in the backs.

The group, who are undergoing a strength and conditioning assessment and rugby training, are in camp until Wednesday and head coach Stuart Lancaster says it is a good chance to see where everyone is at ahead of the 2014/15 season.

"This camp will give us a chance to get the wider squad together and an opportunity to review the New Zealand tour,” he commented.

"It will be an important few days for us in terms of complementing the work that the clubs have been doing in pre-season with their strength and conditioning but also from a rugby point of view. The next time we meet will be two weeks before we play New Zealand in the QBE Internationals so this time together is vital.

"In collaboration with Premiership Rugby we have been given the flexibility to announce the England Senior and Saxons squads in October, much closer to our four international matches in November. We appreciate their support of our proposal which enables time to assess the first part of the club season and therefore select players who are in form leading into an important series for us.

“It also allows an opportunity for players not involved in the training camp this week to put down a marker in terms of their performances ahead of the squad announcement."

A senior squad consisting of 33 players and a 32-man Saxons squad will be announced in October.

Loughborough University, August 2014

Alex Corbisiero (Northampton Saints) 
Joe Marler (Harlequins) 
Matt Mullan (Wasps) 
Mako Vunipola (Saracens)

Kieran Brookes (Newcastle Falcons) 
Henry Thomas (Bath Rugby) 
David Wilson (Bath Rugby)

Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs) 
Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints) 
Rob Webber (Bath Rugby) 
Tom Youngs (Leicester Tigers)

Dave Attwood (Bath Rugby) 
Joe Launchbury (Wasps) 
Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints) 
Geoff Parling (Leicester Tigers) 
Ed Slater (Leicester Tigers)

Calum Clark (Northampton Saints) 
Tom Croft (Leicester Tigers) 
Will Fraser (Saracens) 
James Haskell (Wasps) 
Tom Johnson (Exeter Chiefs) 
Matt Kvesic (Gloucester Rugby) 
Ben Morgan (Gloucester Rugby) 
Chris Robshaw (Harlequins) 
Billy Vunipola (Saracens) 
Tom Wood (Northampton Saints) 
Jackson Wray (Saracens)

Danny Care (Harlequins) 
Lee Dickson (Northampton Saints) 
Richard Wigglesworth (Saracens) 
Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers)

Freddie Burns (Leicester Tigers) 
Danny Cipriani (Sale Sharks) 
Owen Farrell (Saracens) 
George Ford (Bath Rugby) 
Stephen Myler (Northampton Saints) 
Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs)

Anthony Allen (Leicester Tigers) 
Brad Barritt (Saracens) 
Luther Burrell (Northampton Saints) 
Kyle Eastmond (Bath Rugby) 
Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby) 
Henry Trinder (Gloucester Rugby) 
Manusamoa Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers) 
Billy Twelvetrees (Gloucester Rugby)

Chris Ashton (Saracens) 
Mike Brown (Harlequins) 
Ben Foden (Northampton Saints) 
Alex Goode (Saracens) 
Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby) 
Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs) 
Chris Pennell (Worcester Warriors) 
Marland Yarde (Harlequins) 
Christian Wade (Wasps) 
Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby)

Number of views (4573)/Comments ()