Academy trio start in final England Under-18 match

Rotimi Segun starts for England against South Africa © Getty Images

Academy News Academy trio start in final England Under-18 match

Harry Mallinder, Rotimi Segun and Lewis Ludlam will all start for England Under-18 in the final match of their three-match South African trip.

England have beaten both Wales and France so far in the past few days, but face the host nation in the rugby hotbed of Stellenbosch on Saturday afternoon.

Mallinder and Segun both return to the starting line-up having been replacements against France, with Ludlam retaining his place in the back row. Meanwhile club mate James Fish is named on the bench.

Head coach John Fletcher says that playing the South Africans in their own back yard will be a huge test.

“We know what to expect – they’ll be big, they’ll be strong and they’ll be direct,” he said. “But we have our own game plan and we’ll be looking to take the game to them, but we’re under no illusions, it’ll be a tough game. The mood in camp is good – we’ve had a good tour and the lads have been great.”

Updates will be available from 3pm on Saturday via

Stellenbosch, South Africa
Saturday, August 23rd, 2014
Kick off 3:00pm UK time
15 Taylor Prell (Giggleswick School & Yorkshire Carnegie)
14 Kai Little (Hartpury College)
13 Max Clark (Bryanston School & Bath Rugby)
12 Harry Mallinder (Rugby School & Northampton Saints)
11 Rotimi Segun (Stowe School & Northampton Saints)

10 Rory Jennings (Bryanston School & Bath Rugby)
9 Will Homer (Sherborne School & Bath Rugby)
1 Lewis Boyce (Prince Henry's & Yorkshire Carnegie)
2 Ollie Adams (St Pauls Catholic College & London Irish)
3 Ciaran Parker (St Ambrose & Sale Sharks)
4 Kieran Treadwell (John Fisher & Harlequins)
5 Joe Batley (Hartpury College & Gloucester Rugby)
6 Charlie Beckett (QEW & Leicester Tigers) (c)
7 Sam Underhill (Sir Thomas Rich’s School & Gloucester Rugby)
8 Lewis Ludlam (St Joseph’s College & Northampton Saints)

16 James Fish (Trent College & Northampton Saints)
17 Owen Hills (QEW & Leicester Tigers)
18 Seb Adeniran-Olule (Wellington College & Harlequins)
19 Joe Maksymiw (QEW & Leicester Tigers)
20 George Nott (Kings School Chester & Sale Sharks)
21 Joe Marchant (Peter Symonds & Harlequins)
22 Ollie Thorley (Cheltenham College & Gloucester Rugby)
23 John Williams (St Pauls College & London Irish)
24 Cameron Cowell (St Pauls College & London Irish)
25 Theo Brophy Clews (Abingdon School & London Irish)

Number of views (3081)/Comments ()