Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
SaintsConference & EventsFoundationStore

Four changes for Saints Under-18s in penultimate league clash

Academy coach Will Parkin has made four changes to his Under-18s side as Northampton Saints head to Wasps for the penultimate clash of the regular season this Saturday (22 January, kick-off: 2pm). 

The young Saints will travel to Aylesbury RFC off the back of only their second defeat of the season, with the side falling 27-24 to a late interception score at Worcester Warriors last time out. 

But this weekend Frankie Sleightholme, Kieran Gilmour, Sam Ferrari and James Bennett all come into the starting XV as Parkin’s side look to get back on track against Wasps ahead of the regular season finale on 12 February.

And despite the disappointment of last weekend’s late loss, Parkin says Saints’ attacking intent will serve them well as the season enters its final stages.

He said: “Obviously it was disappointing to lose last week, especially in the manner we did; but the lads put together a much more rounded performance against Worcester than Sale and that was pleasing to see. 

“I was, however, really impressed by our intent both in attack, to move the ball in to space, and in defence, to get the ball back. 

”It was also great to see Henry Pollock playing so well in his first start of the season and Toby Cousins adding two more tries to his tally. To see these two and our other Under-17s playing so well a year young is really pleasing. 

“For us now, though, we need to continue learning and developing to put together another good performance against Wasps this weekend.”

Will Parkin, Academy Coach

“I must also add that I’m delighted to see Josh Weru’s name on the teamsheet as he comes back from a nasty hamstring injury to make his league debut; and it’s great to see Will Lamprell and Will Brock set to make their U18s debuts as Under-17s.”

Premiership Rugby Under-18 Academy League
Saturday 22 January 2022
Aylesbury RFC
Kick-off: 2pm

15 Jody Devine
14 Ethan Thorne
13 Toby Cousins
12 Archie Kean
11 Frankie Sleightholme
10 Tommy Taylor
9 Kieran Gilmour

1 Sam Ferrari
2 Craig Wright
3 Nicholas Tarr
4 James Bennett
5 George Lavender
6 Ted Reid
7 Henry Pollock
8 George Patten (c)

16 Aston Gradwick-Light
17 Lucas Nesbitt-Hadaway
18 Will Lamprell
19 Josh Weru
20 Levi Wilson
21 Harry Hall
22 Oscar Bennett
23 Will Brock

Visit the Saints Store