Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
SaintsConference & EventsFoundationStore

Premiership Rugby A League new structure and fixtures announced

Travis PerkinsSponsored by Travis Perkins

Today Premiership Rugby have announced a new framework for the Premiership Rugby A League competition, also setting out the fixtures for the upcoming season.

Now facing each side home and away, the Wanderers, who lifted the trophy in last year's campaign, will start their title defence with a trip to Sale Jets in the North Pool, as the countdown to the new season gathers pace.

The opening round of the season comes just days after the Premiership Rugby season kicks off, providing a perfect opportunity for the next generation to showcase their skills.

Following that, the Wanderers return to the Gardens to host local rivals Leicester Tigers A just two days after the same fixture plays out with the first team in a double derby day weekend.

The Wanderers, looking to repeat their success this season, will face more major challenges with Worcester Cavaliers hot on the heels of derby day.

The structure of the Premiership Rugby A League has changed significantly this season, with 13 teams set to compete before the semi-finals and finals in April.

The six-team North Pool will play each other home and away, with the top two progressing to the semi-finals.

Whereas in the South Pool, the sides will play each other once. The top five after six matches then meet again, play an additional four games in a second phase mini-league with the top reaching the semi-finals.

The semi-finals are set to take place on the week commencing 22 April, with the final on Monday 30 April.

For a full list of Premiership Rugby A League fixtures CLICK HERE.

Visit the Saints Store