Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
SaintsConference & EventsFoundationStore

Saints name team for Champions Cup trip to Ospreys

Travis PerkinsSponsored by Travis Perkins

Interim head coach Alan Dickens had made five changes to Northampton Saints’ starting line-up for this weekend’s clash against the Ospreys.

Saints travel to south Wales on Sunday, kick-off 3pm, looking to get back to winning ways after last weekend’s spirited comeback against the region at Franklin’s Gardens fell just short.

Courtney Lawes is rested and Dylan Hartley is out through illness, with Luther Burrell and Lewis Ludlam moving to the bench.

Tom Stephenson comes into inside centre in the only change to the starting back line, having recovered from the hamstring injury has that kept him out since the start of the month, while Ben Foden captains the side on the wing.

Hooker Mikey Haywood packs down alongside Francois van Wyk and Jamal Ford-Robinson in the front row, and Michael Paterson comes in to partner David Ribbans in the engine room.

And the final two changes are in the back row, flankers Jamie Gibson and Tom Wood lining up either side of Teimana Harrison – who wears the No.8 jersey again after an impressive showing last time out.

Saints scored five tries in a whirlwind second half last week but could not haul back the Ospreys before the final whistle, and Dickens takes charge of the side for the first time at the Liberty Stadium.

Tickets are still available for the Exeter Chiefs match at Franklin’s Gardens on Saturday 23rd December, starting from £36 (adults) and £16 (juniors)CLICK HERE to book online or call the Saints Ticket Office on 01604581000.

European Champions Cup Round Four
The Liberty Stadium
Sunday 17 December, 2017
Kick-off: 3.15pm  


15 Dan Evans
14 Ben John
13 Kieron Fonotia
12 Owen Watkin
11 Jeff Hassler
10 Sam Davies
9 Tom Habberfield

1 Nicky Smith
2 Scott Baldwin
3 Dmitri Arhip
4 Bradley Davies
5 Alun Wyn Jones (capt)
6 Dan Lydiate
7 Justin Tipuric
8 Olly Cracknell 

16 Scott Otten
17 Paul James
18 Ma’afu Fia
19 Adam Beard
20 Rob McCusker
21 Rhys Webb
22 Dan Biggar
23 Ashley Beck


15 Harry Mallinder
14 Ahsee Tuala
13 Rob Horne
12 Tom Stephenson
11 Ben Foden (capt)
10 Piers Francis
9 Nic Groom 

1 Francois van Wyk
2 Mikey Haywood
3 Jamal Ford-Robinson
4 David Ribbans
5 Michael Paterson
6 Jamie Gibson
7 Tom Wood
8 Teimana Harrison 

16 Reece Marshall
17 Campese Ma’afu
18 Paul Hill
19 Api Ratuniyarawa
20 Lewis Ludlam
21 Cobus Reinach
22 Luther Burrell
23 Ken Pisi



Injury update:
Kieran Brookes (hand), Charlie Clare (knee), Tom Collins (foot), George North (knee), Alex Waller (arm), Stephen Myler (calf) and Dylan Hartley (illness) are unavailable for selection.

Visit the Saints Store
Visit the Saints Store
Match tickets on sale now!
Match tickets on sale now!
23/24 Rugby Camps
23/24 Rugby Camps