Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
SaintsConference & EventsFoundationStore

Picamoles shortlisted for top Premiership Rugby accolade

Travis PerkinsSponsored by Travis Perkins

Saints number eight Louis Picamoles has been named amongst the players nominated for Aviva Premiership Rugby Player of the Season.

Being one of only two players in the shortlist to play for a club outside the top four finishing sides, Picamoles joins Jimmy Gopperth, Joe launch bury, Michael Rhodes, Mark Wilson and Olly Woodburn in the shortlist.

The shortlist was compiled by a panel of media professionals – Chris Jones (BBC 5 Live), Ben Coles (Planet Rugby), Jill Douglas (Freelance), Alastair Eykyn (BT Sport), Alex Lowe (The Times), Nick Purewal (Press Association), Stephen Jones (Sunday Times), Jonny Fordham (The Sun), Sarah Mockford (Rugby World), and Nick Mullins (BT Sport). They were joined by Paul Morgan (Premiership Rugby's Communications Director) who chaired the panel.

The winner will rub shoulders with the biggest names in English rugby at a glittering ceremony at the Lancaster London Hotel tomorrow (Wednesday, May 17th) presented by BT Sport's Craig Doyle.

Jimmy Gopperth (Wasps)
Joe Launchbury (Wasps)
Louis Picamoles (Northampton Saints)
Michael Rhodes (Saracens)
Mark Wilson (Newcastle Falcons)
Olly Woodburn (Exeter Chiefs)

Along with the winner of the Aviva Premiership Rugby Player of the Season, the winners of the following awards will also be announced:

  • Aviva Community Player of the Season
  • BT Sport Dream Team
  • Citizen Try of the Season
  • Gilbert Golden Boot
  • Land Rover Discovery of the Season
  • Ricoh Director of Rugby of the Season
  • Singha Premiership Rugby 7s Player of the Series
  • Trivento Top Try Scorer of the Season
  • Women's Premiership Players’ Player of the Year

* The winners will be announced first on Twitter via the @premrugby account. Use hashtag #AvivaPremAwards to join the conversation.

Past winners
2015-16: Alex Goode (Saracens)
2014-15: George Ford (Bath Rugby)
2013-14: Mike Brown (Harlequins)
2012-13: Tom Youngs (Leicester Tigers)
2011-12: Chris Robshaw (Harlequins)
2010-11: Tom Wood (Northampton Saints)
2009-10: Chris Ashton (Northampton Saints)
2008-09: Chris Robshaw (Harlequins)
2007-08:  James Simpson-Daniel (Gloucester Rugby)
2006-07: Martin Castrogiovanni (Leicester Tigers)
2005-06:  Mike Catt (London Irish)
2004-05:  Martin Corry (Leicester Tigers)

Visit the Saints Store
Visit the Saints Store
Match tickets on sale now!
Match tickets on sale now!
23/24 Rugby Camps
23/24 Rugby Camps