Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
SaintsConference & EventsFoundationStore

Jamie Gibson nominated for Aviva Premiership Player of the Season

Travis PerkinsSponsored by Travis Perkins

Northampton Saints flanker Jamie Gibson is in the running for the Aviva Premiership Rugby Player of the Season award, after being nominated ahead of this Wednesday's awards ceremony.

Exeter Chiefs’ Don Armand, Dany Cipriani of Wasps, Newcastle Falcon Vereniki Goneva and Sale Sharks scrum-half Faf De Klerk also make it onto the shortlist.

But completing the quintet is Saints’ Gibson – one of only four players to feature in all 22 Rounds of Aviva Premiership Rugby this term – who finished in the top five players in the league for tackles made, lineouts won, and turnovers this season.


  • Don Armand (Exeter Chiefs)
  • Danny Cipriani (Wasps)
  • Faf De Klerk (Sale Sharks)
  • Jamie Gibson (Northampton Saints)
  • Vereniki Goneva (Newcastle Falcons)

The five talismen will now wait to see who takes the crown from last year’s winner Jimmy Gopperth of Wasps at the glittering Aviva Premiership Rugby Awards at the Royal Lancaster Hotel on Wednesday May 16.

The shortlist was compiled by the following panel – Alastair Eykyn (BT Sport), Nick Mullins (BT Sport), Sonja McLaughlan (BBC Radio), Sarah Mockford (Rugby World), Mick Cleary (Telegraph), Stephen Jones (The Times), Jonny Fordham (The Sun), Dave Rogers (Getty Images) and Chris Jones (BBC Radio), while Paul Morgan (Premiership Rugby’s Communications Director) chaired the panel.


2016-17: Jimmy Gopperth (Wasps)
2015-16: Alex Goode (Saracens)
2014-15: George Ford (Bath Rugby)
2013-14: Mike Brown (Harlequins)
2012-13: Tom Youngs (Leicester Tigers)
2011-12: Chris Robshaw (Harlequins)
2010-11: Tom Wood (Northampton Saints)
2009-10: Chris Ashton (Northampton Saints)
2008-09: Chris Robshaw (Harlequins)
2007-08: James Simpson-Daniel (Gloucester Rugby)
2006-07: Martin Castrogiovanni (Leicester Tigers)
2005-06: Mike Catt (London Irish)
2004-05: Martin Corry (Leicester Tigers)

The winners at the Aviva Premiership Rugby Awards will be announced first on Twitter via the @premrugby account. Use hashtag #AvivaPremAwards to join the conversation.

WIN a ‘We Are Saints’ t-shirt