Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
SaintsConference & EventsFoundationStore

Biggar gets Wales start with Francis, Lawes & Ludlam all in for England

Northampton Saints' fly-half Dan Biggar has been handed the number ten shirt by Warren Gatland this weekend as Wales take on England in Cardiff, while Piers Francis, Courtney Lawes and Lewis Ludlam all line-up opposite him as they start for England. 

Following England's 33-19 win over Wales at Twickenham last weekend, the sides play the return fixture in Cardiff this Saturday (17 August, kick-off 2.15pm, live on Channel 4 & Sky Sports) - with all four Saintsmen involved in sides' the starting line-ups. 

Biggar will earn his 72nd Wales cap this weekend, while the Saints trio have all been handed starting places after being named in Eddie Jones' squad for the 2019 Rugby World Cup in Japan squad earlier this week.

Eddie Jones said: “The game is very much about ourselves preparing for the World Cup and we are respectful that we have got such strong opposition at their home ground. We are looking forward to it.
“The squad has been progressing well this week and I think there is a realisation among the squad now that the hard work really starts, nothing has been achieved.”

Meanwhile Gatland commented: "We were disappointed to get the loss last weekend so it is important we step it up on Saturday and put in a big display in front of a packed Principality Stadium.

"The squad are looking forward to getting back out there, taking another step towards the RWC and putting in a big performance."

Saturday 17 August, 2019
Principality Stadium
Kick-off 2.15pm
Live on Channel 4/Sky Sports

15. Liam Williams (Saracens) 
14. George North (Ospreys) 
13. Jonathan Davies (Scarlets) 
12. Hadleigh Parkes (Scarlets) 
11. Josh Adams (Cardiff Blues) 
10. Dan Biggar (Northampton Saints)
9. Gareth Davies (Scarlets) 

1. Nicky Smith (Ospreys) 
2. Ken Owens (Scarlets)
3. Tomas Francis (Exeter Chiefs)
4. Jake Ball (Scarlets) 
5. Alun Wyn Jones (C) (Ospreys) 
6. Aaron Wainwright (Dragons) 
7. James Davies (Scarlets) 
8. Ross Moriarty (Dragons)

16. Elliot Dee (Dragons) 
17. Wyn Jones (Scarlets) 
18. Dillon Lewis (Cardiff Blues) 
19. Aaron Shingler (Scarlets) 
20. Josh Navidi (Cardiff Blues) 
21. Aled Davies (Ospreys) 
22. Jarrod Evans (Cardiff Blues) 
23. Owen Watkin (Ospreys) 

15 Elliot Daly (Saracens)
14 Ruaridh McConnochie (Bath Rugby)
13 Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby)
12 Piers Francis (Northampton Saints)
11 Joe Cokanasiga (Bath Rugby)
10 George Ford (Leicester Tigers) C
9 Willi Heinz (Gloucester Rugby) VC

1 Ellis Genge (Leicester Tigers)
2 Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs)
3 Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers)
4 Joe Launchbury (Wasps)
5 Maro Itoje (Saracens) 
6 Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints)
7 Lewis Ludlam (Northampton Saints)

8 Billy Vunipola (Saracens)

16 Jamie George (Saracens)
17 Joe Marler (Harlequins)
18 Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins)
19 George Kruis (Saracens)
20 Jack Singleton (Saracens)
21 Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers)
22 Owen Farrell (Saracens)
23 Manu Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers)

Visit the Saints Store
Visit the Saints Store
Match tickets on sale now!
Match tickets on sale now!
23/24 Rugby Camps
23/24 Rugby Camps