Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
SaintsConference & EventsFoundationStore
Getty Images
Getty Images

Boyd makes four changes for trip to Bath

Northampton Saints director of rugby Chris Boyd has made four changes to his starting XV to take on Bath Rugby on Saturday in round four of the Gallagher Premiership.

The men in Black, Green and Gold will be looking to bounce back from a narrow defeat to defending champions Saracens last time out as they journey to the Rec, with kick-off set for 3pm in the West Country.

Dylan Hartley and Alex Waller once again jointly lead the side from Saints’ front row, with Ben Franks – who came off the bench last week to score against Sarries – recalled at tighthead prop alongside them.

The second row is unchanged as David Ribbans and Courtney Lawes start for the fourth straight game this season, but flankers Jamie Gibson and Lewis Ludlam both come into the base of the scrum to join Teimana Harrison.

Andrew Symons make his first competitive start for Saints at outside centre as he is selected in the midfield alongside Piers Francis, who has two tries to his name in three matches this term.

The back three remains unchanged with Ahsee Tuala, Tom Collins and Taqele Naiyaravoro keeping their spots in the side, while Dan Biggar and Cobus Reinach continue in the half-back positions.

Meanwhile, Andrew Kellaway is named in a Saints squad for the first time amongst the replacements, with the versatile Australian import fit to make his Gallagher Premiership debut at the Rec.

“Clearly going away to Bath is a tough proposition; they have a big forward pack, cart the ball through the middle of the field well, and have danger on the outside,” said Boyd.

“We are making progress but at some point in time all that effort needs to convert into winning some games. Rome wasn’t built in a day but we’re trying to build it as fast as we can.”

Tickets are still available for Northampton’s next home match, which sees Saints take on fierce rivals Leicester Tigers at Twickenham in ‘The Derby’. The match is being played in aid of Rob Horne; for more information and to book tickets please CLICK HERE.

Gallagher Premiership Rugby, Round Four
Saturday 22 September, 2018
The Recreation Ground
Kick-off: 3pm

15 Ahsee Tuala
14 Taqele Naiyaravoro
13 Andrew Symons
12 Piers Francis
11 Tom Collins
10 Dan Biggar
9 Cobus Reinach

1 Alex Waller (co-captain)
2 Dylan Hartley (co-captain)
3 Ben Franks
4 David Ribbans
5 Courtney Lawes
6 Jamie Gibson
7 Lewis Ludlam
8 Teimana Harrison

16 Mike Haywood
17 Francois Van Wyk
18 Ehren Painter
19 Api Ratuniyarawa
20 Mitch Eadie
21 Alex Mitchell
22 Andrew Kellaway
23 Harry Mallinder

Not available for selection:
Dom Barrow (hamstring), Alex Coles (knee), James Craig (concussion), Paul Hill (shoulder), Rory Hutchinson (knee), Toby Trinder (foot), Ken Pisi (shoulder), Heinrich Brüssow (concussion), James Haskell (ankle), and Nafi Tuitavake (neck).

Visit the Saints Store