Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
SaintsConference & EventsFoundationStore

Five Saints named in England U20s squad for 2022

Five of Northampton Saints’ Senior Academy players have been named by head coach Alan Dickens in England U20s’ 32-man Elite Player Squad (EPS) for 2022.

Tom Litchfield has already been capped at this level, but Geordie Irvine, Tom Lockett, Ethan Grayson and George Hendy all receive their first call-ups to join the U20s squad.

Dickens and full-time forwards coach, Andy Titterrell, have been joined in the England U20s coaching set up by Jordan Turner-Hall as defence coach.

Dickens said: “Selection for the squad has been based on a combination of things; the previous regional camps we’ve held, the work we do with Club academies and coaches, plus our knowledge of the players within the pathway.

“The communication and collaboration throughout the pathway are excellent and it’s ensuring we identify talented players and get out to see them play early.”

Alan Dickens, England U20s Head Coach

“I’d like to thank all the Premiership clubs, the academies, the coaches and Premiership Rugby for their support. It’s been a big team effort.

“The squad and coaching team are looking forward to two four-day camps and a training game against Oxford University in the first half of January, which is all part of our preparation for the Six Nations and our first game against Scotland.”

England U20s’ Elite Player Squad for 2022

Fin Baxter (Harlequins)
Alfie Bell (Wasps)
Lucas Brooke (London Irish)
Kofi Cripps (Wasps)
Mark Dormer (Newcastle Falcons)
Ollie Fletcher (Newcastle Falcons)
Robin Hardwick (Wasps)
Will Hobson (Harlequins)
Emeka Ilione (Leicester Tigers)
Geordie Irvine (Northampton Saints)
Tom Lockett (Northampton Saints)

Toby Knight (Saracens)
Guy Pepper (Newcastle Falcons)
Charlie Rice (Bristol Bears)
Ewan Richards (Bath)
John Stewart (Bath)
Mike Summerfield (London Irish)
Alex Wardell (Saracens)

Henry Arundell (London Irish)
Seb Atkinson (Worcester Warriors)
Deago Bailey (Bristol Bears)
Jamie Benson (Harlequins)
Tom Carr-Smith (Bath)
Ethan Grayson (Northampton Saints)
Olly Hartley (Wasps)
George Hendy (Northampton Saints)
Matty Jones (Gloucester)
Louie Johnson (Newcastle Falcons)
Will Joseph (London Irish)
Tom Litchfield (Northampton Saints)
Fin Smith (Worcester Warriors)
Iwan Stephens (Newcastle)

WIN a ‘We Are Saints’ t-shirt