Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
SaintsConference & EventsFoundationStore

Ludlam to lead out Saints on final outing of the season

Lewis Ludlam will lead Northampton Saints against Bath Rugby when they take to the field for the final time this season on Saturday afternoon (kick-off: 3pm).

With the Men in Black, Green and Gold having secured a fifth-place finish in the Gallagher Premiership last weekend, Director of Rugby Chris Boyd makes total of nine changes as he and his charges head to Bath for the season finale.

Skipper Ludlam – one of four Saints called up into the England training squad this week – Courtney Lawes and Tom Wood are the only remaining members of the pack from last weekend’s nail-biting clash with reigning champions Exeter Chiefs, with the three internationals lining up together in the back row.

A completely new-look tight five sees locks Alex Coles and Alex Moon man the engine room, with Nick Auterac, Mike Haywood and Paul Hill coming into the front row.

After making his comeback from injury last week off the bench, scrum-half Alex Mitchell joins No.10 James Grayson in the half-back berths for the trip to the West Country, while Rory Hutchinson partners Fraser Dingwall in the centres outside them. 

Taqele Naiyaravoro will mark a half-century of Premiership appearances as he takes his spot on the wing opposite Tom Collins, with Tommy Freeman – who collected Saints’ Breakthrough Player of the Season award on Tuesday – rounding off the side at fullback. 

Ollie Newman will make his senior Saints debut should he enter the game from the bench, while Connor Tupai and Josh Gillespie are also set to make their first Northampton appearances of the season amongst the replacements.  

Gallagher Premiership Rugby, Round 22
Saturday 12 June 2021
The Recreation Ground
Kick-off: 3pm

15 Tommy Freeman
14 Tom Collins
13 Fraser Dingwall
12 Rory Hutchinson
11 Taqele Naiyaravoro
10 James Grayson
9 Alex Mitchell

1 Nick Auterac
2 Mike Haywood
3 Paul Hill
4 Alex Coles
5 Alex Moon
6 Courtney Lawes
7 Lewis Ludlam (capt)
8 Tom Wood

16 James Fish
17 Alex Waller
18 Ehren Painter
19 Api Ratuniyarawa
20 Ollie Newman
21 Connor Tupai
22 Matt Proctor
23 Josh Gillespie

Not available due to injury:
Owen Franks (foot), George Furbank (calf), Danny Hobbs-Awoyemi (achilles), Teimana Harrison (calf), Nick Isiekwe (pectoral), and Ollie Sleightholme (concussion).

Referee: Ian Tempest
Assistant Referees: Hamish Smales and Peter Allan
No.4: George Selwood
TMO: David Rose

Visit the Saints Store
Visit the Saints Store
Match tickets on sale now!
Match tickets on sale now!
23/24 Rugby Camps
23/24 Rugby Camps