Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
SaintsConference & EventsFoundationStore

North to start for Wales at Eden Park

Travis PerkinsSponsored by Travis Perkins

Saints wing George North has been named in the starting XV for Wales’ first Test against New Zealand at Eden Park on Saturday.

Warren Gatland has made five changes from the side that faced England at Twickenham with Sam Warburton returning to captain the side.

"We have made five changes since our last hit out and there is an opportunity for a number of players," said Head Coach Warren Gatland.

"We are under no illusions how tough the Test series will be against the back-to-back World Champions but the players are also aware how important this tour is."

The All Blacks have made six changes from the side that beat Australia in the Rugby World Cup final. Kieran Read will captain the side with Steve Hansen naming Sam Cane at open side flanker and Aaron Cruden at fly half. Ardie Savea and Seta Tamanivalu could make their debuts from the bench.

Wales team to play New Zealand
Eden Park, Auckland

Saturday, June 11th
KO 8:35am BST

15. Liam Williams (Scarlets)
14. George North (Northampton Saints)
13. Jonathan Davies (Clermont Auvergne)
12. Jamie Roberts (Harlequins)
11. Hallam Amos (Newport Gwent Dragons)
10. Dan Biggar (Ospreys)
  9. Rhys Webb (Ospreys)

  1. Gethin Jenkins (Cardiff Blues)
  2. Ken Owens (Scarlets)
  3. Samson Lee (Scarlets)
  4. Bradley Davies (Wasps)
  5. Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys)
  6. Ross Moriarty (Gloucester)  
  7. Sam Warburton (Cardiff Blues, CAPT)
  8. Taulupe Faletau (Newport Gwent Dragons)


16. Scott Baldwin (Ospreys)
17. Rob Evans (Scarlets)
18. Tomas Francis (Exeter Chiefs)
19. Jake Ball (Scarlets)
20. Ellis Jenkins (Cardiff Blues)
21. Gareth Davies (Scarlets)
22. Gareth Anscombe (Cardiff Blues)
23. Scott Williams (Scarlets)

Visit the Saints Store
Visit the Saints Store
Match tickets on sale now!
Match tickets on sale now!
23/24 Rugby Camps
23/24 Rugby Camps