Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
SaintsConference & EventsFoundationStore

Saints name Hartley and Waller co-captains for 2018/19 season

Northampton Saints can today confirm that Dylan Hartley and Alex Waller will co-captain the squad for the 2018/19 season. 

The pair, who have amassed almost 500 appearances in Black, Green and Gold between them, will lead Saints during the upcoming season and new director of rugby Chris Boyd – who spent his first week at the Club in Wales with the squad – insists the decision was straightforward. 

“To keep Dylan in a leadership role was an obvious choice for me,” he said. “He’s hugely respected by everyone here at Saints and has led the Club brilliantly for several years now. 

“We were, however, aware that the Club could be without a captain for large chunks of the season while Dylan is away on England duty, so naming Alex as co-captain was the obvious next step. 

“Alex is a pivotal figure here at Franklin’s Gardens. His leadership skills are clear to see, and he boasts an intimate knowledge of this Club having spent the entirety of his nine senior seasons here.

“Dylan and Alex have worked together for a number of years and I’m sure they will continue to build on their partnership in this new set-up.”

Saints have enjoyed an excellent preseason thus far, winning both of their clashes in Wales against Ospreys and Dragons, and will look to continue that this Friday as they take to the Franklin’s Gardens turf for the first time this campaign to take on Glasgow Warriors (kick-off 7.30pm). 

And alongside defence coach Alan Dickens, attack coach Sam Vesty, forwards coach Phil Dowson and assistant coach Matt Ferguson, Boyd has now finalised his 54-man squad ahead of the upcoming 2018/19 campaign.

Dominic Barrow
Dan Biggar
Heinrich Brüssow
Luther Burrell
Alex Coles*
Tom Collins
James Craig
Charlie Davies
Will Davis
Fraser Dingwall*
Mitch Eadie
Tom Emery*
James Fish
Jamal Ford-Robinson
Piers Francis
Ben Franks
George Furbank*
Jamie Gibson
Joe Gray**
James Grayson*
Teimana Harrison
Dylan Hartley (co-captain 2018/19)
James Haskell
Mikey Haywood
Paul Hill
Rory Hutchinson
Andrew Kellaway
Courtney Lawes
Lewis Ludlam
Samson Ma’asi*
Harry Mallinder
Reece Marshall
Alex Mitchell*
Alexander Moon*
Taqele Naiyaravoro
Devante Onojaife*
Ehren Painter*
Ken Pisi
Api Ratuniyarawa
Cobus Reinach
David Ribbans
Paddy Ryan*
Ollie Sleightholme*
Fraser Strachan*
Andy Symons
Toby Trinder*
Ahsee Tuala
Nafi Tuitavake
Connor Tupai*
Joe Wallace*
Alex Waller (co-captain 2018/19)
Tom Wood
Matt Worley*
Francois van Wyk


* Senior Academy 2018/19
** Injury cover (temporary contract)

Visit the Saints Store
Visit the Saints Store
Match tickets on sale now!
Match tickets on sale now!
23/24 Rugby Camps
23/24 Rugby Camps