Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
SaintsConference & EventsFoundationStore

Saints name side for Newcastle Falcons trip

Phil Dowson has named his Northampton Saints side to travel to Newcastle Falcons, with the men in Black, Green and Gold heading to Kingston Park in the Gallagher Premiership on Sunday (29 October, kick-off: 3pm). 

Saints have claimed victory in the last four meetings between the two sides, including a 66-5 win at the end of last season that secured Northampton a second consecutive Premiership play-off place. 

Director of rugby Dowson makes four changes to his side for the trip to Newcastle, with George Furbank back from injury to captain Saints, while Fraser Dingwall and George Hendy also make their returns to the starting XV. 

Fullback Furbank leads the side from the back three, joined there by 21-year-old Hendy and Tom Seabrook – who has scored six tries in as many appearances in Black, Green and Gold so far. 

Rory Hutchinson retains his place in Northampton’s midfield, with incoming Dingwall joining him there and half-backs Tom James and Fin Smith partnering to steer Saints’ ship for the third week running. 

Saints name an unchanged front row as Ethan Waller, Curtis Langdon and Trevor Davison pack down there for the fourth match in a row. 

Chunya Munga is set for his Premiership first start in Black, Green and Gold as he joins Alex Coles in Saints’ engine room, while Angus Scott-Young, Tom Pearson and Sam Graham remain in Northampton’s back row. 

Meanwhile Tom Cruse, Elliot Millar Mills, Alex Moon, Archie McParland and James Grayson are all set to make an impact from amongst Saints’ replacements. 

Gallagher Premiership, Round 3
Sunday 29 October, 2023
Kingston Park
Kick-off: 3pm

15 George Furbank (c)
14 Tom Seabrook
13 Fraser Dingwall
12 Rory Hutchinson
11 George Hendy
10 Fin Smith
9 Tom James

1 Ethan Waller
2 Curtis Langdon
3 Trevor Davison
4 Chunya Munga
5 Alex Coles
6 Angus Scott-Young
7 Tom Pearson
8 Sam Graham

16 Tom Cruse
17 Alex Waller
18 Elliot Millar Mills
19 Tom Lockett
20 Alex Moon
21 Archie McParland
22 James Grayson
23 Tom Litchfield

Not available for selection:
Juarno Augustus, Callum Braley, Tommy Freeman, Emmanuel Iyogun, Tarek Haffar, Temo Mayanavanua, Beltus Nonleh, Burger Odendaal, James Ramm, Robbie Smith and Kayde Sylvester. 

International duty:
Courtney Lawes, Lewis Ludlam, Alex Mitchell (all England).

15 Elliott Obatoyinbo, 14 Adam Radwan, 13 Tom Penny, 12 Rory Jennings, 11 Iwan Stephens, 10 Brett Connon, 9 Sam Stuart; 1 Adam Brocklebank, 2 Jamie Blamire, 3 Mark Tampin, 4 Philip van der Walt, 5 Sebastian de Chaves, 6 Sam Cross, 7 Guy Pepper, 8 Callum Chick (captain).
Replacements: 16 Bryan Byrne, 17 Phil Brantingham, 18 Murray McCallum, 19 John Hawkins, 20 Kiran McDonald, 21 Hugh O’Sullivan, 22 Freddie Lockwood, 23 Matias Orlando.

Referee: Hamish Smales
Assistant referees: Hamish Grant and Jamie Leahy
No. 4: Gregg Dawson
TMO: Dean Richards

Visit the Saints Store
Visit the Saints Store
Match tickets on sale now!
Match tickets on sale now!
23/24 Rugby Camps
23/24 Rugby Camps