Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
SaintsConference & EventsFoundationStore

Ton up for Ribbans while Waller breaks Premiership record against Wasps

Director of Rugby Chris Boyd has named his Northampton Saints side to take on Wasps on Sunday – with David Ribbans celebrating a century of appearances in Black, Green and Gold, while Alex Waller breaks the Gallagher Premiership appearance record for a prop.

The 32-year-old loosehead will make his 231st league appearance in the clash at cinch Stadium at Franklin’s Gardens, moving past Duncan Bell on the all-time list to become the leading prop forward in Premiership history.

Ribbans meanwhile earns his 100th Saints cap in the second row, becoming the Club’s 216th centurion in the process.

Fraser Dingwall will lead out Northampton for the sixth match running, with Rory Hutchinson named in Saints’ midfield alongside him and George Furbank returning from international duty to slot in at fullback.

Wings Courtnall Skosan and Tom Collins continue in the back three, while Boyd opts for a half-back duo of Alex Mitchell and James Grayson.

Waller and Ribbans headline the pack on their milestone appearances for the Club, with Paul Hill returning to the front row at tighthead prop to join Fiji hooker Sam Matavesi.

Ribbans and Api Ratuniyarawa continue their extended run together in Northampton’s engine room, while Saints are boosted by the return of Teimana Harrison from injury in the back row – the flanker lines up alongside Alex Coles and No.8 Juarno Augustus to round off the starting XV.

Meanwhile, amongst the replacements, wing Ollie Sleightholme returns to the matchday 23 and will look to make an impact off the bench alongside the likes of Piers Francis, Tom James and Brandon Nansen.

Gallagher Premiership Rugby, Round 20
Sunday 13 March 2022
cinch Stadium at Franklin’s Gardens
Kick-off: 3pm

15 George Furbank
14 Courtnall Skosan
13 Fraser Dingwall (c)
12 Rory Hutchinson
11 Tom Collins
10 James Grayson
9 Alex Mitchell

1 Alex Waller
2 Sam Matavesi
3 Paul Hill
4 David Ribbans
5 Api Ratuniyarawa
6 Alex Coles
7 Teimana Harrison
8 Juarno Augustus

16 Mike Haywood
17 Emmanuel Iyogun
18 Conor Carey
19 Brandon Nansen
20 JJ Tonks
21 Tom James
22 Piers Francis
23 Ollie Sleightholme

Not considered for selection:
Matthew Arden, Emeka Atuanya, Jake Garside, Karl Garside, Oisín Heffernan, Lewis Ludlam, Taqele Naiyaravoro, Ehren Painter, Matt Proctor, Kayde Sylvester, Karl Wilkins and Tom Wood.

International duty:
Dan Biggar (Wal), Ethan Grayson (Eng U20), George Hendy (Eng U20), Courtney Lawes (Eng), Tom Lockett (Eng U20)

Referee: Wayne Barnes
Assistant referees: Nick Wood and Jamie Leahy
No.4: Darryl Chapman
TMO: Claire Hodnett

Next Home Match

Northampton Saints
Saturday 9 March - 2:30pm
Visit the Saints Store
Visit the Saints Store
Match tickets on sale now!
Match tickets on sale now!
23/24 Rugby Camps
23/24 Rugby Camps