Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
SaintsConference & EventsFoundationStore

Waller and Burrell in for Saints

Travis PerkinsSponsored by Travis Perkins

Northampton Saints make just two changes for their trip to Wasps this Sunday, with Alex Waller and Luther Burrell coming into the starting line-up.

The men in Black, Green and Gold travel to the Ricoh Arena off the back of a Derby Day success at Leicester Tigers a fortnight ago – their first triumph at Welford Road since 2007.

Saints will be hoping for their first-ever victory in Coventry this weekend, having last won on Wasps soil back in 2013.

Interim head coach Alan Dickens and technical coaching consultant Alan Gaffney welcome back Burrell and Waller into the starting XV for the first time since their respective injury layoffs – both lined up on the bench against Tigers.

But there’s also a return for Heinrich Brüssow; the South African flanker is fit enough for a spot on the bench after last playing against Bath Rugby back in March.

Burrell partners up with Piers Francis in the centres with Stephen Myler and Cobus Reinach continuing together in the half-backs.

Ben Foden will lead out the side as captain, and the Saints veteran is joined in the back three by George North and fullback Ahsee Tuala.

Waller is the only change in Saints pack from the win over Tigers, with Mikey Haywood and Paul Hill selected in the front row, and Api Ratuniyarawa and James Craig behind them.

The back row remains unchanged with Jamie Gibson, Teimana Harrison, and Mitch Eadie all impressing in Leicester – but Alex Mitchell, James Grayson and Tom Collins will all look to inject some pace off the bench.

Aviva Premiership Rugby, Round 21
The Ricoh Arena
Sunday 29th April, 2018
Kick-off: 3pm 


15 Willie Le Roux
14 Christian Wade
13 Juan De Jongh
12 Jimmy Gopperth 
11 Elliot Daly
10 Danny Cipriani
9 Dan Robson 

1 Simon McIntyre
2 Tommy Taylor
3 Jake Cooper-Woolley
4 Joe Launchbury (capt)
5 Will Rowlands 
6 Jack Willis 
7 Thomas Young
8 Guy Thompson

16 Tom Cruse
17 Matt Mullan
18 Marty Moore
19 Kearnan Myall
20 James Haskell 
21 Joe Simpson
22 Gaby Lovobalavu
23 Josh Bassett


15 Ahsee Tuala
14 Ben Foden (capt)
13 Luther Burrell
12 Piers Francis
11 George North
10 Stephen Myler
9 Cobus Reinach 

1 Alex Waller
2 Mikey Haywood
3 Paul Hill
4 Api Ratuniyarawa
5 James Craig
6 Jamie Gibson
7 Teimana Harrison
8 Mitch Eadie 

16 Charlie Clare
17 Campese Ma’afu
18 Ehren Painter
19 Alex Moon
20 Heinrich Brüssow
21 Alex Mitchell
22 James Grayson
23 Tom Collins

Injury update:
Tom Wood, Courtney Lawes, Dylan Hartley, Harry Mallinder, Christian Day, David Ribbans, Reece Marshall and Kieran Brookes are all unavailable for selection.

Visit the Saints Store
Visit the Saints Store
Match tickets on sale now!
Match tickets on sale now!
23/24 Rugby Camps
23/24 Rugby Camps