Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
SaintsConference & EventsFoundationStore

Wandies take to Franklin’s Gardens turf this evening

Travis PerkinsSponsored by Travis Perkins

Northampton Wanderers look to extend their perfect record in this year’s Premiership Rugby A League as they host Wasps A at Franklin’s Gardens this evening.

The Wandies, who claimed the A League title last season, have eight bonus-point wins from eight matches in this year’s competition – beating Sale Jets, Leicester Tigers, Worcester Cavaliers, Newcastle Falcons and today’s opponents Wasps so far.

Sitting in excellent shape at the top of the Northern Conference, Northampton have once again picked a strong side with their local rivals coming to town.

England Under-20s internationals Fraser Dingwall, James Grayson, Toby Trinder and Ehren Painter all start in Black, Green and Gold for the first time since the Six Nations, while Devante Onojaife – who also played a role in the Championship with Scotland – will make his mark from the bench.

Grayson will link up once again with Alex Mitchell in the half-backs, their third straight Wandies appearance together, while Tom Stephenson joins Dingwall in the midfield.

Tom Collins and Ken Pisi are given a chance to impress on the wings, while George Furbank completes the back three.

Charlie Clare will pack down at hooker in-between Trinder and Painter, with Alex Moon and James Craig in the engine room behind them.

Meanwhile Mitch Eadie and Lewis Ludlam are also given an opportunity in the back row, with 19-year-old Paddy Ryan completing Northampton’s starting line-up as the young flanker continues his development.

Tickets will be available on the gate for £5 for adults and £2 for juniors, while entry is free for Season Ticket Holders.

Premiership Rugby A League, Round 9
Franklin’s Gardens
Monday 2 April, 2018
Kick-off: 7.30pm

15 George Furbank
14 Tom Collins
13 Fraser Dingwall
12 Tom Stephenson (capt)
11 Ken Pisi
10 James Grayson
9 Alex Mitchell 

1 Toby Trinder
2 Charlie Clare
3 Ehren Painter
4 Alex Moon
5 James Craig
6 Lewis Ludlam
7 Paddy Ryan
8 Mitch Eadie 

16 James Fish
17 Matt Beesley
18 Matt Collins
19 Will Allman
20 Devante Onojaife
21 Tom Kessell
22 JP Estelles
23 Jamie Elliott

WIN a ‘We Are Saints’ t-shirt