Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
SaintsConference & EventsFoundationStore
Northampton Saints' Dan Biggar captain's Wales.
Getty Images
Northampton Saints' Dan Biggar captain's Wales.
Getty Images

Biggar to lead Wales in first Springboks Test

Dan Biggar will lead Wales in Pretoria this weekend, as Wayne Pivac names the Northampton Saints fly-half captain of his first Test side to kick off the team’s tour of South Africa on Saturday. 

The 32-year-old will earn his 101st cap as he skippers from fly-half at Loftus Versfeld on Saturday (2 July, kick-off: 4.05pm BST) – with the sold-out clash set to see the Springboks feature in front of a full crowd on home soil for the first time since claiming the Rugby World Cup in 2019. 

Head coach Pivac said: “South Africa are world champions. We’ve played them recently in the autumn but we don’t think there will be too much change. They’ve got a very big side, a six-two split on the bench.

“We don’t expect much change from the way they played against us previously and it’s been very effective for them. We’re expecting a very tough game.

“This is our first tour away as a group so it’s fantastic for us. The guys have had a good week’s build up, have really enjoyed each other’s company and just being away in different surroundings. It’s going to be a great atmosphere Saturday, a great challenge and one we’re looking forward to.”

Saturday 2 July, 2022
Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria
Kick-off: 4.05pm BST
Live on Sky Sports Action with highlights on S4C

15 Liam Williams (Cardiff Rugby – 78 caps)
14 Louis Rees-Zammit (Gloucester Rugby – 16 caps)
13 George North (Ospreys – 102 caps)
12 Nick Tompkins (Saracens – 20 caps)
11 Josh Adams (Cardiff Rugby – 39 caps)
10 Dan Biggar (Northampton Saints – 100 caps), captain
9 Kieran Hardy (Scarlets – 11 caps)

1 Gareth Thomas (Ospreys – 10 caps) 
2 Ryan Elias (Scarlets – 27 caps)
3 Dillon Lewis (Cardiff Rugby – 38 caps)
4 Will Rowlands (Dragons – 18 caps) 
5 Adam Beard (Ospreys – 34 caps)
6 Dan Lydiate (Ospreys – 65 caps)
7 Tommy Reffell (Leicester Tigers – uncapped)
8 Taulupe Faletau (Cardiff Rugby – 89 caps)

16 Dewi Lake (Ospreys – 5 caps)
17 Rhys Carre (Cardiff Rugby – 16 caps) 
18 Tomas Francis (Ospreys 64 caps)
19 Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys – 150 caps)
20 Josh Navidi (Cardiff Rugby – 30 caps) 
21 Tomos Williams (Cardiff Rugby – 33 caps)
22 Gareth Anscombe (Ospreys – 31 caps)
23 Owen Watkin (Ospreys – 31 caps)

Shop online at Saints Store now