Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
SaintsConference & EventsFoundationStore

Four changes for Saints ahead of Wasps clash

Northampton Saints have named their line-up ahead of this weekend’s Gallagher Premiership clash against Wasps, with director of rugby Chris Boyd making four changes to his side.

The men in Black, Green and Gold travel to the Ricoh Arena on Sunday (kick-off: 3pm) looking to maintain their excellent start to the league campaign, having won five of seven matches so far to sit second on the ladder.

Boyd has made three changes to the pack that helped see off Gloucester last time out at Franklin’s Gardens, with club captain Alex Waller and tighthead Paul Hill coming into the front row either side of Mikey Haywood.

The other switch sees David Ribbans start his first match since mid-November at lock, with Courtney Lawes moving into the back row and Alex Moon keeping his spot in the engine room.

Flanker Tom Wood and number eight Teimana Harrison round off the pack, with Cobus Reinach – scorer of two tries against the Cherry & Whites – and Dan Biggar shaking off knocks to start just behind them in the half-back berths.

Piers Francis and Rory Hutchinson start together again in the centres to complete a midfield of international quality for Saints, while the only change to the back-line sees Ahsee Tuala come in on the wing to join Tom Collins and fullback George Furbank in the back three.

Meanwhile an explosive line-up of replacements will also look to make their mark on the game, with the likes of Owen Franks, Lewis Ludlam, Matt Proctor, and Taqele Naiyaravoro all ready to be unleashed off the bench.

Gallagher Premiership Rugby, Round 8
Sunday 5 January 2020
Ricoh Arena
Kick-off: 3pm

15 George Furbank
14 Ahsee Tuala
13 Rory Hutchinson
12 Piers Francis
11 Tom Collins
10 Dan Biggar
9 Cobus Reinach

1 Alex Waller (co-capt)
2 Mikey Haywood
3 Paul Hill
4 Alex Moon
5 David Ribbans
6 Courtney Lawes
7 Tom Wood
8 Teimana Harrison (co-capt)

16 Sam Matavesi
17 Francois Van Wyk
18 Owen Franks
19 Api Ratuniyarawa
20 Lewis Ludlam
21 Henry Taylor
22 Matt Proctor
23 Taqele Naiyaravoro

Referee: Matthew Carley
Assistant referees: Jack Makepeace & Hamish Smales
TMO: Graham Hughes

Not available for selection:
Alex Mitchell (knee), Reuben Bird-Tulloch (hand), Jamie Gibson (ankle), James Mitchell (ankle) and Andy Symons (head).

Visit the Saints Store
Visit the Saints Store
Match tickets on sale now!
Match tickets on sale now!
23/24 Rugby Camps
23/24 Rugby Camps