Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
SaintsConference & EventsFoundationStore

Freedom of the Borough to be awarded to Saints president

Travis PerkinsSponsored by Travis Perkins

Northampton Borough Council is working on plans for a special ceremony to honour the club’s former chairman, along with Brian Binley MP and Alderman John Dickie. The proposal is set to be discussed by Northampton Borough Council on Monday, October 27th, and Councillor John Caswell, the Mayor of Northampton, would officially recognise each individual’s contribution to our town later in the year.

This year Northampton is celebrating the 825th anniversary of the town’s Royal Charter. Throughout the year the Borough Council and other organisations have been remembering the town’s rich history marking the events and people who have shaped the town.

Freedom of the Borough of Northampton is the highest honour that can be awarded by the Borough Council and recognises people who have served Northampton and the local community.

Councillor David Mackintosh, Leader of Northampton Borough Council said: “In their own way Keith Barwell OBE, Brian Binley MP and Alderman John Dickie have made a huge contribution to our town. All three have consistently demonstrated a sense of pride in our town and made a concerted effort to making Northampton a better place. And each has given years of their time and energy to the community, as well as representing our town in different capacities and putting Northampton on the map.”

“I’m delighted and honoured to be nominated for the Freedom of Northampton,” Barwell said. “It is always special to receive an award such as this from your home, especially in such an historic year that marks the 825th anniversary of the town’s charter. Northampton has always been a place that is close to my heart, and I hope that I have been able to repay this honour during my working life.”

Councillors are set to discuss the proposals a week on Monday at a meeting of Full Council held at the Guildhall. The motion is being proposed by the Leader of the Council, Councillor David Mackintosh, and seconded by the Leader of the Labour group, Councillor Leslie Marriott.

Councillor Leslie Marriott, Leader of Northampton Borough Council’s Labour group said: “In this year of celebration and commemoration we have been recognising and celebrating our history and heritage. Over the centuries Northampton has given the world some great characters and major events in our town have touched the lives of many more people. Even today we have people who are representing everything good about Northampton and making a difference in our town, and I am delighted to see we are recognising three of these individuals with the highest honour the Borough Council can award.”

Visit the Saints Store