Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
SaintsConference & EventsFoundationStore
Getty Images
Getty Images

Lawes to start for England against France

Northampton Saints' second-row Courtney Lawes is set to start for England as they take on France in the second round of the Guinness Six Nations on Sunday (10 February).

After impressing off the bench in England's dominant win over Ireland last time out, Lawes will wear the No. 4 shirt at Twickenham (kick-off 3pm, live on ITV Sport), claiming his 70th international cap in the process. 

Joining George Kruis in the engine room, the 29-year-old comes into an otherwise unchanged pack as one of two changes to the starting XV that downed Ireland last weekend - Chris Ashton the other name added to the team sheet for Sunday's clash. 

England head coach Eddie Jones said: “After the Ireland game we have had to refocus and reset. Players have been very good and certainly by Sunday we’ll be at our best.

“The French are always an interesting side to play against. They are full of talent, they have a lot of unpredictability so it’s hard to prepare tactically against them so we have had a real focus on ourselves.

“It is unfortunate Maro is injured but he has been rehabbing well so we are hopeful he will be back earlier than maybe first predicted. We have got great depth in the squad so Courtney Lawes will fill his shoes very well.

“We can’t wait to play in front of our supporters, I’m sure they will be buoyant by the first round results and we promise we will play a better game on Sunday.”

Guiness Six Nations
Sunday 10 February
Twickenham Stadium
Kick-off 3pm

15 Elliot Daly (Wasps)
14 Chris Ashton (Sale Sharks)
13 Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs)
12 Manu Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers)
11 Jonny May (Leicester Tigers)
10 Owen Farrell (Saracens) (c)
9 Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers)
1 Mako Vunipola (Saracens)
2 Jamie George (Saracens)
3 Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins)
4 Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints)
5 George Kruis (Saracens)
6 Mark Wilson (Newcastle Falcons)
7 Tom Curry (Sale Sharks)
8 Billy Vunipola (Saracens)
16 Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs)
17 Ben Moon (Exeter Chiefs)
18 Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers)
19 Joe Launchbury (Wasps)
20 Nathan Hughes (Wasps)
21 Dan Robson (Wasps)
22 George Ford (Leicester Tigers)
23 Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs)

Visit the Saints Store
Visit the Saints Store
Match tickets on sale now!
Match tickets on sale now!
23/24 Rugby Camps
23/24 Rugby Camps