Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
SaintsConference & EventsFoundationStore

Saints name strong side for historic Barbarians clash

Northampton Saints have named a squad of 28 players to face Barbarian F.C., with Director of Rugby Phil Dowson fielding a strong line-up for the historic clash this weekend.

The men in Black, Green and Gold will lock horns with the world-famous invitational side for the first time ever on Saturday afternoon (kick-off: 3pm) at cinch Stadium at Franklin’s Gardens, with limited tickets still available starting from £22 adult / £8 junior*.

Lewis Ludlam returns to captain Northampton Saints for the first time since October having recovered from injury, and the England flanker is joined in the back row by Angus Scott-Young and No.8 Juarno Augustus.

Lukhan Salakaia-Loto and Tom Lockett make up the hosts’ engine room – with the duo of locks selected together for the first time – while Saints’ front row is full of experience with Alex Waller, Mike Haywood and Paul Hill packing down from the start.

Fly-half Fin Smith returns to lead Northampton’s back-line, with Callum Braley continuing in the No.9 jersey after skippering the men in Black, Green and Gold to a Premiership Rugby Cup victory at Newcastle Falcons last weekend.

Rory Hutchinson and Matt Proctor combine in the midfield for Saints, with James Ramm, Tom Collins and Courtnall Skosan continuing in an unchanged back three.

Meanwhile, Northampton name 13 players on the bench for this exhibition clash, with England internationals Alex Mitchell and George Furbank the headline inclusions – although there are also returns from injury for Karl Wilkins and Aaron Hinkley.

A limited number of tickets remain for the fixture, starting from £22 adult / £8 junior*. PLEASE CLICK HERE to purchase now.

Saturday 26 November 2022
cinch Stadium at Franklin’s Gardens
Kick-off: 3pm

15 James Ramm
14 Tom Collins
13 Matt Proctor
12 Rory Hutchinson
11 Courtnall Skosan
10 Fin Smith
9 Callum Braley

1 Alex Waller
2 Mike Haywood
3 Paul Hill
4 Lukhan Salakaia-Loto
5 Tom Lockett
6 Angus Scott-Young
7 Lewis Ludlam (c)
8 Juarno Augustus

Robbie Smith
Emmanuel Iyogun
Ed Prowse
Alex Moon
Brandon Nansen
Sam Graham
Karl Wilkins
Aaron Hinkley
Alex Mitchell
George Furbank
Joel Matavesi
Tom Litchfield
George Hendy

Not considered for selection:
Matthew Arden, James Fish, James Grayson, Courtney Lawes, Ollie Sleightholme, and Ethan Waller.

International duty:
Alex Coles, Tommy Freeman and David Ribbans (all England).

Referee: Joe James
Assistant referees: Charlie Gayther and Phil Watters
No.4: Darryl Chapman

Next Home Match

Northampton Saints
Saturday 9 March - 2:30pm

* All ticket prices are subject to a £1.50 booking fee.

Visit the Saints Store
Visit the Saints Store
Match tickets on sale now!
Match tickets on sale now!
23/24 Rugby Camps
23/24 Rugby Camps