Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
SaintsConference & EventsFoundationStore

Saints name strong XV to face British Army in Mobbs Memorial Match

James Grayson will skipper a Saints XV as Northampton welcome the British Army to cinch Stadium at Franklin’s Gardens for the 2022 Mobbs Memorial Match. 

One of rugby’s most historic fixtures, the Mobbs Memorial Match was first played in 1921 and honours Edgar Mobbs – a Club legend, World Rugby Hall of Fame inductee, and WW1 hero.

Proceeds from the match support the charitable aims of the Mobbs Memorial Fund, which promotes the development of youth rugby in the East Midlands, with tickets* still available for £10 for adults and £5 for juniors, concessions, former players and past/present members of the British Armed Forces.

Grayson will lead out Saints at the Gardens and starts at fly-half for his second outing in the Mobbs Memorial Match after turning out against the Army back in 2018.

Connor Tupai will look to control the game alongside the No.10 from scrum-half, while Joel Matavesi and Tom Litchfield are named in Northampton’s midfield with Ahsee Tuala, Taqele Naiyaravoro and Josh Gillespie lining up in the back three.

Danny Hobbs-Awoyemi and Callum Burns pack down in the front row at loosehead and hooker respectively alongside tighthead prop Oisín Heffernan, who returns from a long-term injury for the Wednesday evening clash. 

Brandon Nansen also returns for Saints, joining Senior Academy lock Emeka Atuanya in the engine room. England Under-20 international Tom Lockett, triallist Aaron Hinkley and JJ Tonks meanwhile start in the back row and round off the XV.  

Mobbs Memorial Match
Wednesday 13 April 2022
cinch Stadium at Franklin’s Gardens
Kick-off: 7.30pm

15 Ahsee Tuala
14 Josh Gillespie
13 Tom Litchfield
12 Joel Matavesi
11 Taqele Naiyaravoro
10 James Grayson (c)
9 Connor Tupai

1 Danny Hobbs-Awoyemi
2 Callum Burns
3 Oisín Heffernan
4 Emeka Atuanya
5 Brandon Nansen
6 Tom Lockett
7 Aaron Hinkley
8 JJ Tonks

16 Reece Marshall
17 Karl Garside
18 Ed Prowse
19 Alex Moon
20 James Fish
21 Jake Garside
22 Ethan Grayson
23 George Hendy
24 George Patten

Please note that this fixture is NOT included in the 2021/22 Season Ticket package.

* All ticket prices subject to a £0.50 booking fee.

Visit the Saints Store