Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
SaintsConference & EventsFoundationStore

Seven Saints in England match day squad

Travis PerkinsSponsored by Travis Perkins

England face a Sudamerica XV made up of players from Argentina, Uruguay, Chile and Brazil, representing the CONSUR federation, at the Estadio Charrua in Montevideo, Uruguay, before tests against the Pumas in Salta (June 8th) and Buenos Aires (June 15th).

It will be a memorable day for Stephen Myler and Luther Burrell, who will both be making their first senior England starts. And with Ben Foden, Courtney Lawes and skipper Tom Wood also in the starting line-up, a third of the team that begins the match will be representing the Aviva Premiership finalists.

The other two Saints, scrum-half Lee Dickson and prop Paul Doran Jones, have both been chosen on the bench, alongside future Saint Alex Corbisiero.

"We have made a lot of changes from the Barbarians games as this tour is about giving players opportunities to show their talent," commented England head coach Stuart Lancaster. "However the objective is to build on that performance and keep our game moving forward. The players understand this responsibility and are looking forward to the challenge.

"Everyone involved will need to hit the ground running in Uruguay because we expect the Sudamerica side to play with a lot of skill and physicality in front of a passionate home crowd. It is England's first ever match on Uruguayan soil and should be a great occasion for all concerned."

Sunday's match kicks off at 7:30pm UK time, and although it is not being shown live on TV supporters can keep up-to-date via the RFU's Twitter feed.


Tour Match

Montevideo, Uruguay

Sunday, June 2nd, 2013

Kick off 7:30pm UK time

15 Ben Foden (Northampton Saints)

14 Jonny May (Gloucester)

13 Luther Burrell (Northampton Saints)

12 Kyle Eastmond (Bath)

11 David Strettle (Saracens)

10 Stephen Myler (Northampton Saints)

9 Richard Wigglesworth (Saracens)

1 Joe Marler (Harlequins)

2 David Paice (London Irish)

3 Henry Thomas (Sale Sharks)

4 Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints)

5 Kearnan Myall (Unattached)

6 Tom Wood (Northampton Saints)(capt)

7 Tom Johnson (Exeter Chiefs)

8 Billy Vunipola (London Wasps)


16 Rob Buchanan (Harlequins)

17 Alex Corbisiero (London Irish)

18 Paul Doran Jones (Northampton Saints)

19 Dave Attwood (Bath Rugby)

20 Matt Kvesic (Worcester Warriors)

21 Lee Dickson (Northampton Saints)

22 Freddie Burns (Gloucester)

23 Jonathan Joseph (London Irish)

Visit the Saints Store
Visit the Saints Store
Match tickets on sale now!
Match tickets on sale now!
23/24 Rugby Camps
23/24 Rugby Camps