Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
SaintsConference & EventsFoundationStore

12 Lightning players named in five WXV matchday squads

Loughborough Lightning forward Daisy Hibbert-Jones is set for her Red Roses debut after being named in England’s matchday squad to face Australia on Friday (kick-off: 7am, BST).

The back rower was called up to the WXV 1 squad after her clubmate Sadia Kabeya withdrew due to injury, and is among the replacements to face the Wallaroos. Lightning’s Helena Rowland will earn her 26th England cap in the Wellington encounter, and is named as vice captain.

Interim Red Roses head coach Louis Deacon said: “Daisy has consistently shown a desire to improve her skillset since coming into camp.

“She is an intelligent rugby player with a deep passion for the game and it will be a special moment to see her run out and deservedly become our latest Red Rose.”

Scotland have named all five of their Loughborough Lightning players in their starting line-up for their second WXV 2 match against USA on Friday (kick-off 1pm BST), as they look to build on an opening victory over South Africa.

Rachel Malcolm is captain, Helen Nelson is vice captain, while Chloe Rollie, Christine Belisle and Emma Wassell are all in the side running out at Athlone Stadium in Cape Town.

Lining up against them will be three more Lightning players as the USA have selected Bulou Mataitoga at fullback, Kathryn Treder at hooker and Hallie Taufoou in the second row.

Meanwhile Wales have named Loughborough Lightning’s Carys Williams-Morris among their replacements for their WXV 1 opener against Canada on Saturday (kick-off: 4am BST). 

Head coach Ioan Cunningham said: “Carys comes into squad and will bring her experience, and we are confident she will have a major impact off the bench. We are excited for the opening game of the WXV 1 and are raring to go and to see where we are against one of the best sides in the world.’’

In the opposition squad for the Wellington encounter is Lightning forward Sara Svoboda, who has been selected as Canada’s openside flanker.


Friday 20 October 
Sky Stadium, Wellington, New Zealand
Kick-off: 7am (BST). Live coverage on ITVX.

ENGLAND: 15 Helena Rowland (vice captain), 14 Abby Dow,  13 Megan Jones, 12 Tatyana Heard, 11 Jess Breach, 10 Holly Aitchison, 9 Ella Wyrwas; 1 Hannah Botterman, 2 Connie Powell (Harlequins), 3 Maud Muir, 4 Rosie Galligan, 5 Zoe Aldcroft (vice-captain), 6 Maisy Allen, 7 Marlie Packer (captain), 8 Alex Matthews.
Replacements: 16 Lark Atkin-Davies, 17 Mackenzie Carson, 18 Kelsey Clifford, 19 Sarah Beckett, 20 Daisy Hibbert-Jones21 Natasha Hunt, 22 Sophie Bridger, 23 Emma Sing.


Friday 20 October 
Athlone Stadium, Cape Town, South Africa
Kick-off: 1pm (BST). Live coverage on RugbyPass TV

USA: 15 Bulou Mataitoga, 14 Tess Feury, 13 Kate Zackary (captain), 12 Mata Hingano, 11 Charlotte Clapp, 10 Gabby Cantorna,  9 Carly Waters; 1 Catie Benson, 2 Kathryn Treder, 3 Charli Jacoby, 4 Hallie Taufoou, 5 Erica Jarrell, 6 Freda Tafuna, 7 Tahlia Brody, 8 Rachel Johnson.
Replacements: 16 Paige Stathopoulos, 17 Mona Tupou, 18 Keia Mae Sagapolu, 19 Jenny Kronish, 20 Rachel Ehrecke, 21 Taina Tukuafu, 22 Katana Howard, 23 Autumn Czaplicki.

SCOTLAND: 15 Chloe Rollie,14 Rhona Lloyd, 13 Emma Orr, 12 Lisa Thomson, 11 Francesca McGhie, 10 Helen Nelson (vice captain), 9 Mairi McDonald; 1 Leah Bartlett, 2 Lana Skeldon, 3 Christine Belisle, 4 Emma Wassell5 Louise McMillan, 6 Rachel Malcolm (captain)7 Rachel McLachlan, 8 Evie Gallagher.
Replacements: 16 Elis Martin, 17 Anne Young, 18 Lisa Cockburn, 19 Eva Donaldson, 20 Jade Konkel, 21 Caity Mattinson, 22 Meryl Smith, 23 Liz Musgrove.


Saturday 21 October
Sky Stadium, Wellington, New Zealand
Kick-off: 4am (BST). Live coverage on S4C/ITVX

CANADA: 15 Madison Grant, 14 Florence Symonds, 13 Shoshanah Seumanutafa, 12 Alexandra Tessier, 11 Sarah-Maude Lachance, 10 Claire Gallagher, 9 Olivia Apps; 1 McKinley Hunt, 2 Emily Tuttosi, 3 Alexandria Ellis, 4 Tyson Beukeboom, 5 Laetitia Royer, 6 Gabrielle Senft, 7 Sara Svoboda, 8 Sophie de Goede.
Replacements: 16 Gillian Boag, 17 Brittany Kassil, 18 DaLeaka Menin, 19 Ashlynn Smith, 20 Courtney Holtkamp, 21 Justine Pelletier, 22 Julia Schell, 23 Krissy Scurfield.

WALES: 15 Jasmine Joyce, 14 Lisa Neumann, 13 Hannah Jones (captain), 12 Kerin Lake, 11 Carys Cox, 10 Robyn Wilkins, 9 Keira Bevan; 1 Gwenllian Pyrs, 2 Carys Phillips, 3 Sisilia Tuipulotu, 4 Abbie Fleming, 5 Georgia Evans, 6 Alisha Butchers, 7 Alex Callender, 8 Bethan Lewis (vice captain).
Replacements: 16 Kelsey Jones, 17 Abbey Constable, 18 Donna Rose, 19 Kate Williams, 20 Sioned Harries, 21 Meg Davies, 22 Lleucu George, 23 Carys Williams-Morris.

Visit the Saints Store
Visit the Saints Store
Match tickets on sale now!
Match tickets on sale now!
23/24 Rugby Camps
23/24 Rugby Camps