Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
SaintsConference & EventsFoundationStore
Dan Biggar will captain Wales in South Africa for the second Test against the Springboks
Huw Jones Photography
Dan Biggar will captain Wales in South Africa for the second Test against the Springboks
Huw Jones Photography

Biggar skippers Wales for series decider against Springboks

Dan Biggar will captain Wales on Saturday afternoon in Wayne Pivac’s side’s Test series decider against South Africa.

The Northampton Saints fly-half will lead out his country at DHL Stadium in Cape Town (kick-off 4.05pm BST, live on Sky Sports) and earn his 103rd cap in the process, as Wales look to claim an historic win with the series level at 1-1 after their first-ever away victory over the Springboks in Bloemfontein last weekend.

Pivac said: “Most people had written us off before we left Wales, and to be in this position with an opportunity to win this series is great for us. It’s fantastic that there’s something to play for in this Test match.

“However, it’s been a tough training week because we’ve been a bit banged up as you’d expect after two very physical Test matches. So, to have the majority of the squad that we arrived on these shores with available is a pretty good state to be in, and we are really looking forward to the weekend.

“The atmosphere on matchday has been excellent. South African fans are very loud, they support their side and they let you know what they are thinking of the occasion. It’s an environment that tests you and the players have so far stood up in both matches.

“We’re looking forward to another full house and another crowd that really gets behind the occasion and makes it a special one.”

Wales team to face South Africa

15. Liam Williams (Cardiff Rugby – 80 caps)
14. Louis Rees-Zammit (Gloucester Rugby – 18 caps)
13. George North (Ospreys – 104 caps)
12. Nick Tompkins (Saracens – 22 caps)
11. Josh Adams (Cardiff Rugby – 41 caps)
10. Dan Biggar (Northampton Saints – 102 caps), captain
9. Kieran Hardy (Scarlets – 13 caps)

1. Gareth Thomas (Ospreys – 12 caps)
2. Ryan Elias (Scarlets – 29 caps)
3. Dillon Lewis (Cardiff Rugby – 40 caps)
4. Will Rowlands (Dragons – 20 caps)
5. Adam Beard (Ospreys – 36 caps)
6. Dan Lydiate (Ospreys – 67 caps)
7. Tommy Reffell (Leicester Tigers – 2 caps)
8. Taulupe Faletau (Cardiff Rugby – 91 caps)

16. Dewi Lake (Ospreys – 7 caps)
17. Wyn Jones (Scarlets – 44 caps)
18. Sam Wainwright (Saracens – 1 cap)
19. Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys – 152 caps
20. Josh Navidi (Cardiff Rugby – 32 caps)
21. Tomos Williams (Cardiff Rugby – 35 caps)
22. Gareth Anscombe (Ospreys – 32 caps)
23. Owen Watkin (Ospreys – 32 caps)

Shop online at Saints Store now