Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
SaintsConference & EventsFoundationStore

Francis set for England debut

Travis PerkinsSponsored by Travis Perkins

New signing Piers Francis is set for his first England cap this weekend, having been included in the match day 23 for Saturday's first test against Argentina.

The fly half flew into Argentina from Auckland on Monday after a series of impressive outings in Super Rugby over the past few weeks, and will back up vice captain George Ford and inside centre Alex Lozowski in San Juan.

Dylan Hartley retains the captain's armband, and when he runs out for his 85th appearance he will join Rory Underwood and Lawrence Dallaglio as the third-most England capped player of all time.

“I’m really excited about this England team to face Argentina this weekend,” said Jones. “I have selected a group of experienced players across the spine of this team as well as four young players who will be eager to go out and play well on their debuts for England.

“Those players have worked extremely hard to get selected over the last few weeks, but I have been impressed with the way the whole squad has trained and gelled together in a short amount of time. They all realise the opportunity that they have to be involved in this England side and I’m sure they will show that commitment on Saturday.

“We are here to win this series 2-0 but we know Argentina will be extremely tough opposition. After a mixed year of results, there will be pressure on them to play well and win in front of a partisan crowd. We know Argentina are a very good side having played them earlier this season and they will be desperate to win against us.”

Saturday's match kicks off at 8:15pm UK time and will be shown live on BBC 2.

First Test
San Juan
Saturday, June 10th, 2017
Kick off 8:15pm UK time

15 Mike Brown (Harlequins)
14 Marland Yarde (Harlequins)
13 Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs)
12 Alex Lozowski (Saracens)
11 Jonny May (Gloucester)
10 George Ford (Bath)
9 Danny Care (Harlequins)
1 Ellis Genge (Leicester Tigers)
2 Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints)(capt)
3 Harry Williams (Exeter Chiefs)
4 Joe Launchbury (Wasps)
5 Charlie Ewels (Bath)
6 Mark Wilson (Newcastle Falcons)
7 Tom Curry (Sale Sharks)
8 Nathan Hughes (Wasps)

16 Jack Singleton (Worcester Warriors)
17 Matt Mullan (Wasps)
18 Will Collier (Harlequins)
19 Nick Isiekwe (Saracens)
20 Don Armand (Exeter Chiefs)
21 Jack Maunder (Exeter Chiefs)
22 Piers Francis (Northampton Saints)
23 Denny Solomona (Sale Sharks)

WIN a ‘We Are Saints’ t-shirt