Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
SaintsConference & EventsFoundationStore

New signing Groom in South Africa squad for Ireland tour

Travis PerkinsSponsored by Travis Perkins

New Saints scrum half Nic Groom has been named in a 31-man South Africa squad to play Ireland over the summer.

Groom is one of nine uncapped players and just three foreign-based players to be called up to the squad by new coach Allister Coetzee.

Groom will join the Saints from the Stormers following the conclusion of the Super Rugby season and could earn his first South Africa cap against Ireland during the three-Test tour next month.

Speaking about the squad announcement, Coetzee said: “I think it augers well for the future of South African rugby.”

“It is a good mix of players who have done well in the Super Rugby competition as well as some youngsters with an eye on the next World Cup in Japan in 2019.”

The first Test between South Africa and Ireland takes place in Cape Town (June 11th), with the second Test being held in Johannesburg (June 18th) and the third Test taking place in Port Elizabeth (June 25th).


Backs: Garth April (Sharks), Ruan Combrinck (Lions), Damian de Allende (Stormers), Faf de Klerk (Lions), Nic Groom (Stormers), Elton Jantjies (Lions), Jesse Kriel (Bulls), Pat Lambie, Willie le Roux (both Sharks), Lionel Mapoe (Lions), Lwazi Mvovo (Sharks), Rudy Paige (Bulls), JP Pietersen (Sharks), Jan Serfontein (Bulls)

Forwards: Lood de Jager (Cheetahs), Pieter-Steph du Toit, Eben Etzebeth (both Stormers), Steven Kitshoff (Bordeaux Begles), Siya Kolisi (Stormers), Jaco Kriel (Lions), Francois Louw (Bath), Frans Malherbe, Bongi Mbonambi (both Stormers), Tendai Mtawarira (Sharks), Sikhumbuzo Notshe, Scara Ntubeni (both Stormers), Trevor Nyakane (Bulls), Julian Redelinghuys (Lions), Adriaan Strauss (Bulls), Duane Vermeulen (Toulon), Warren Whiteley (Lions).

WIN Dylan Hartley’s shirt