Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
SaintsConference & EventsFoundationStore

North nominated for European Player of the Year

Travis PerkinsSponsored by Travis Perkins

George North has been nominated for the 2016 EPCR European Player of the Year award for his outstanding performances in this season’s European Rugby Champions Cup.

In total, North played six times in Europe, scoring a try against former club Scarlets in January. During his six appearances he made a staggering 217 metres and 44 carries.

His performances also saw him beat eight defenders and make five clean breaks, whilst also assisting in one try.

He has been nominated by a judging panel of rugby experts alongside 14 of the best players in Europe this season. The winner is set to receive one million air miles courtesy of tournament sponsors Turkish Airlines and will join the likes of Jonny Wilkinson, Ronan O’Gara and Steffon Armitage in receiving the award.

Online voting is now open and votes can be cast at www.finalslyon2016.com

Voting will close at 19:00 CET on Saturday, May 14th.

Judging Panel: Emmanuel Massicard (Midi Olympique), Stuart Barnes (Sky Sports/The Sunday Times), Mick Cleary (The Daily Telegraph), Matthieu Lartot (France Televisions) and Dimitri Yachvilli (beIN Sports)

EPCR European Player of the Year 2016 nominees: Steffon Armitage (Toulon), Dan Carter (Racing 92), Jack Clifford (Harlequins), Elliot Daly (Wasps), Owen Farrell (Saracens), Vereniki Goneva (Leicester Tigers), Guilhem Guirado (RC Toulon), Juan Imhoff (Racing 92), Maro Itoje (Saracens), George Kruis (Saracens), George North (Northampton Saints), Charles Piutau (Wasps), George Smith (Wasps), Billy Vunipola (Saracens) and Thomas Waldrom (Exeter Chiefs)



Visit the Saints Store