Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation
SaintsConference & EventsFoundationStore

Voting now open for 2016 End of Season Awards

Travis PerkinsSponsored by Travis Perkins

Supporters can now cast their votes for the Saints’ 2016 End of Season Awards.

There are a number of categories in which supporters can reward those players whose performances who have stood out during the past few months.

Every player in the squad is eligible for the Travis Perkins Supporters’ Player of the Season. Although rugby union is one of the ultimate team sports individuals do have the space to shine. Ben Foden has more starts than anyone else in the first team squad, Alex Waller set a new record for the most number of consecutive games in Aviva Premiership history, while Lee Dickson is the club’s leading try scorer.

Jamie Gibson, Kieran Brookes, Teimana Harrison, Harry Mallinder and Luther Burrell have won Player of the Month, while Dylan Hartley captained England to the Grand Slam for the first time in 12 years.

Ten tries have been short-listed for the Trevor Dighton Try of the Season. Ken Pisi leads the way with three nominations (at home to Sale and away to both Exeter and Saracens) with all three of the scores at Harlequins in February up for consideration.

The Ewing Associates Young Player of the Season is for those players aged 21 and under at the time of the Awards. This year’s shortlist includes Tom Collins, whose pace and elusive running has been clear time and again, Paul Hill, who within six months of making his Aviva Premiership debut was running out in Rome to win a senior international cap, and Harry Mallinder, who has shown flexibility of position, ability and awareness to become a fixture in match day squads in the second half of the campaign.

This year also sees the introduction of a new award, the DTB Sports Hospitality Breakthrough Player of the Season, which recognises those players aged over 21 who have come into their own during the campaign. The nominated players are James Craig, who has had a consistent run of strong performances in the second row, Teimana Harrison, whose prowess across the back row has had the pundits purring, and Mikey Haywood, who has shouldered the majority of the work at hooker and accumulated the third highest number of playing minutes during the season.

Supporters can cast their votes now at www.northamptonsaints.co.uk/awards2016. Voting closes on Wednesday, May 4th, and the prizes themselves will be handed out at the End of Season Awards on Monday, May 9th.

This gala black tie event will be hosted by former England international and one of the faces of ITV Sport’s Aviva Premiership coverage, David Flatman, and is being sponsored by GRS Group.

Tickets have been in high demand but some remain available; email [email protected] to book your place!

WIN a ‘We Are Saints’ t-shirt